Pressure Cooked Galbi Tang

Inspired by korean stone (bowl) grill, I thought I’d try Korean ‘comfort’ food.  And what could be more comforting than the hearty and satisfying galbi tang (short rib soup/stew).  And so I came across a nice version of the recipe at:

https://www.koreatimes.co.kr/www/news/culture/2015/02/318_54504.html

Ingredients (based on the webpage) –

3 1/2 lbs of short ribs, bone in, cut into thirds
1.5 lbs of korean daikon
2 T usukuchi soy sauce
2 t salt

Galbi Tang ‘Bouquet Garni’
5 oz onion roughly chopped
1.5 oz scallion (2 scallions chopped into ~2″ pieces)
6 garlic cloves, crushed

Additional Seasoning
2 T finely minced green scallion
1 T grated garlic (thank you Nobu)
1/8 t black pepper

The recipe, traditionally takes 2+ hours to make.  Thinking of Kitchen Stadium – I then realized I could get it done somewhere between 20-30 minutes actual cooking time: PRESSURE COOKER.

So I began by preparing the ‘bouquet garni’ and then putting it into a cheesecloth packet. I then followed up with preparing the

Bouquet garni onion (I was going to use half of this)

Bouquet garni onion (I was going to use half of this)

Half the onion roughly chopped

Half the onion roughly chopped

scallion and crushed garlic for the bouquet garni

scallion and crushed garlic for the bouquet garni

Roughly chopped scallions, onion and garlic for the bouquet garni

Roughly chopped scallions, onion and garlic for the bouquet garni

...and the bouquet garni is ready to go

…and the bouquet garni is ready to go

‘additional seasoning’.

2 tablespoons of finely minced scallion for the additional seasoning

2 tablespoons of finely minced scallion for the additional seasoning

1 tablespoon grated garlic

1 tablespoon grated garlic

Adding black pepper to the mix

Adding black pepper to the mix

A nice korean daikon from HMart

A nice korean daikon from HMart

For the korean daikon (‘muu’), I cleaned and peeled it and the cut them into ‘half-moon’ wedges, about

...nicely chopped up into nearly bite sized pieces

…nicely chopped up into nearly bite sized pieces

1″ thick.  In preparing the short ribs, I scored the ‘membrane’ covering the the short rib bone.

Scoring the short rib pieces

Scoring the short rib pieces

The short ribs were then transferred to a pot of boiling water to ‘blanch’ for about 2 minutes. Actually, adding the short ribs ‘stopped’ the boiling process and I had to wait for the water to come back to a boil and THEN let it boil to 2 minutes.  Once that

transferring the blanched short ribs to the pressure cooker

transferring the blanched short ribs to the pressure cooker

was done, I transferred the short ribs to the pressure cooker. I added 14 cups of water to cover the short ribs and then brought

Waiting for pressure cooker to come to a boil

Waiting for pressure cooker to come to a boil

the pressure cooker to a boil WITHOUT capping it with the lid.  Once the pressure cooker pot with the short ribs came to a boil, I let it boil for 20 minutes.

Once the short ribs boiled for 20 minutes, I added ‘bouquet garni’, sliced daikon, ‘additional seasoning’ and then the soy sauce

assembliing all the ingredients to cook, the daikon, then the bouquet garni and then the remaining seasonings

assembliing all the ingredients to cook, the daikon, then the bouquet garni and then the remaining seasonings

and salt.  The pressure cooker was sealed up and I waited for the cooker to reach pressure.  Once the pressure cooker displayed the 2nd red ring, I reduced the heat to about 33% max power and let it cook for 20 minutes.

When it finally finished cooking and I released the steam/pressure from the cooker, I popped the lid and open and got the ‘bouquet garni’ out (as per the instructions: ...Remove the blanching vegetables from the pot…) – a good application of a

Out comes the blanching vegetables in the bouquet garni

Out comes the blanching vegetables in the bouquet garni

French cooking technique for this circumstance.

ready to start serving!

ready to start serving!

So I dumped the bouquet garni and dished out 2 nice bowls of the galbi tang and served it with Nobu’s buckwheat risotto.

A nice serving of galbi tang (...and more where that came from!)

A nice serving of galbi tang (…and more where that came from!)

Granted, I didn’t clarify the broth (I suppose I could have let the galbi tang sit for a little bit and then degreased it) but both my wife and I were really hungry and we both felt it was a really good meal!

Leftover galbitang after refridgeration, ready to have the fat clarified away from the 'stew'

Leftover galbitang after refridgeration, ready to have the fat clarified away from the ‘stew’

….and then I realized I had leftovers.  No problem, I decided that I’d use the leftovers as the base for haejangguk!

 

 

 

, , , ,

  1. It’s Galbitang Weather! – Occasional Adventures

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.