Useful trivia

While beginning preparations for making dinner tonight, my wife asked me a question. I was going to make soy sauce poussins tonight and she wanted to know how long it would take to get the birds from stove to table.  It was a pertinent scheduling question since she wanted to help out and cook the vegetable dishes tonight.  While I know it would take 15 minutes in the pressure cooker, I actually didn’t know how long it would take to get the pot to reach the 2nd red ring pressure level.  I generally didn’t look at the clock, but at the pressure cooker itself before setting the timer to 15 minutes (since I had to lower the heat) once that pot had come to pressure.

As it would turn out, on 100% max power, it would take ~17 minutes for my pot to reach the necessary pressure before turning it down to cook under pressure for 15 minutes.  So the total cooking time was 32 minutes. Good to know.

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

