A quick note on hazelnuts

So I recently had dinner@Legal Seafood Chestnut Hill.  A side dish accompanying my arctic char caught my interest – string beans with Wisconsin soft goat cheese and hazelnuts.  What got my attention was how well the hazelnuts paired with the string beans.  Now of course, there’s the classic string beans almondine; so I figured this side dish was a play on that.  However, I did think the pairing was an improvement.  So I found skinned blanched hazelnuts at my local

bulk skinned Wegmen’s hazelnuts

Wegmen’s (also in Chestnut Hill) to see if I could make something similar at home.

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/to-toast-and-skin-hazelnuts-14905 suggested roasting the nuts at 350

Loading some hazelnuts to toast/roast

degrees for about 10-15 minutes (assuming skins on).  So that’s what I did in my countertop oven, covering the skinned hazelnuts with aluminum foil to prevent them from burning.

Sauteed Haricots Verts With Hazelnuts (and a few carrots)

My wife volunteered to help out doing the sauteed haricots vert (adding a little carrot along the way) and combining them with the roasted hazelnuts.  In the meantime, I made up another batch of Iron Chef Morimoto’s BBQ sauce and cooked up ribeye steaks for my wife and I.

Ribeye With Morimoto BBQ Sauce, Hazelnut Haricots Vert And Carrots

My wife and I both agreed this was a great side to have for this meal.  Personally, I think the use of hazelnuts is a much nicer addition that the slivered almonds in the green bean almondine.   Perhaps this might be something for me to think about for this year’s holiday meals.

 

 

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

