Sable (Black Cod)/Chilean Seabass With Maui Onion Salsa, Nobu 57-Style

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –

* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2015/11/29/nobu-57-nyc/
* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2015/08/17/kurumashrimp-harumaki-with-maui-onion-salsa-nobu-style/

So I’ve been having something of a scramble as of late – looking for a new place to live since they wanted to renovate the place in which I was living.  So a lot of my free time has been spent helping to pack both our belongings in preparation for our move.  I needed to come up with something quick for dinner; I knew there was a good reason why I kept a record of meals I’d had.  In scanning my recorded menus, I found:

Seared sable, crisp maui onion chip, maui onion salsa (from an omakase meal at Nobu 57).

(ignore the date/time – it was screwed up on the camera) – The glass in the upper left corner contained the seared sable, crisp maui onion ‘chip’ and Nobu Maui Onion Salsa

Knowing the comment that Matsuhisa-sama made about comparing sable/black cod to chilean seabass, I decided to make an entree substituting roasted chilean seabass for the sable and Nobu’s maui (sweet) onion salsa.  Preparing the maui onion salsa was basically doubling the recipe from my kuruma shrimp harumaki making experience and then roasting the

Nobu Maui Onion Salsa (on the left) and seasoned chilean seabass about to be roasted in the countertop oven

seasoned chilean seabass at 475 degrees for about 10 minutes. My wife helped out by throwing together a garlic

Roasted Chilean Seabass, Nobu Maui Onion Salsa With Sauteed Broccolini, Asparagus And Carrots

sauteed of broccolini, asparagus and carrots to serve as the bed for the roasted fish and the maui onion salsa.  On tasting the entree, my wife pleasantly remarked on how well the dish reminded her of the omakase offering and how well the salsa matched the roasted chilean seabass and vegetables. **Whew**

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

