Eric Ripert’s Soy Ginger Vinaigrette

So tonight (1 May 2017), my wife wanted crisp pan fried red snapper fillets, but how to dress the dish.  Well, she said she was going to do a garlic sautee of red bell peppers, onions and shiitake mushrooms.  So I looked around and decided to try Chef Ripert’s Soy Ginger Vinaigrette (found at: http://www.aveceric.com/all-recipes/seared-salmon-sauteed-pea-shoots-and-ginger-soy-vinaigrette).  The sauce seemed very approachable.  In fact, it looked very similar to a hybrid of Nobu’s Spicy Lemon/Spicy Lemon Ginger Dressing without the chili garlic sauce.

The sauce recipe was simply a mix of:

1 T grated ginger
1/2 t minced garlic (here, I grated it a well)
3 tablespoons lime juice
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1/4 cup olive oil
– fine sea salt and freshly ground pepper to taste – but how much?

So I began by grating ginger and then

I needed a second piece of peeled ginger to grate for the recipe

grating up the garlic rather than mincing to extract more flavor.

Completed grated ginger and garlic

I didn’t have fresh limes on hand, so I decided to swap in the aromatic yuzu juice.  The other problem I had was how to

yuzu (instead of lime) juice, soy sauce and good extra virgin olive oil

estimate the amount of salt/pepper for the vinaigrette.  Well to solve that problem I decided that since the amount of citrus

Yuzu, soy,ginger, garlic before the olive oil, salt/pepper

and soy looked a lot like the Nobu citrus dressings, I opted for the 1/2 t of 4:1 salt pepper mix I’d been using with the spicy

1/2 t of 4:1 salt/pepper mix

lemon dressing as my guide.  Making the sauce was simply combining the ingredient list and reserving it until plating.

Soy Ginger Vinaigrette

While my wife was making the vegetable side for the meal, I mixed up salt/pepper/flour in a plastic ziplock bag and “shake-and-baked’ the snapper fillets until they were well coated.  I’d done a similar procedure before for shrimp/monkfish and mackerel.  With a little grapeseed oil into a hot sautee pan, I placed the snapper skin side down for about 3 minutes (making sure the skin stayed in full contact with the pan) and then flipped it over about another minute or 2.

Pan fried snapper with onion/bell pepper sautee and soy ginger vinaigrette

So my wife decided she wanted to do the plating and laid down a bed of vegetable sautee, then the fish and then ran the sauce around the outer circle of the plate.  My wife was pleasantly surprised how well the vinaigrette tied the fish and the sauteed vegetables together.  I think I would like to try the vinaigrette with seared cod and sauteed baby spinach (as opposed to pea shoots).  Who knows, may be the vinaigrette will be the key to my deciding on a seafood course for the holiday dinners…?

Update (11 May 2017)

Driven by http://www.winespectator.com/webfeature/show/id/48580 , I followed Chef Ripert’s instructions to prepare the cod and then served it over drained blanched bok choy with the soy ginger vinaigrette.  My wife gave a

Buckwheat ‘risotto’ and sauteed cod with bok choy and soy ginger vinaigrette

thumbs out and suggested this might be the seafood course for Christmas dinner.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

