Nobu Scampi/Langoustine With Spicy Lemon Garlic Sauce

I’d been dreaming about making this dish for years since I’d gotten Nobu: The Cookbook (pgs 50, 51, 172).  While I’ve regularly been making things like shrimp/lobster with spicy lemon dressing, it was only yesterday (20 Jan 2017), that I’d discovered that Eataly Boston’s Pescheria@Prudential Center had fresh live langoustines.  Vinny at the Pescheria counter said they were getting Friday shipments of the langoustines from Scotland.

That settled it. So I went to make a microbatch of the spicy lemon garlic sauce which was:

seasoning cast for the sauce

seasoning cast for the sauce

1/4 c nikiri (evaporated) sake
1 T + 1 t soy sauce
1/2 t chili garlic sauce
1/2 t grated garlic
1/8 t grated ginger
1 T + 1/4 t lemon juice
2 t yuzu juice
2 t grapeseed oil

Completed Spicy Lemon Garlic Ginger Sauce

Completed Spicy Lemon Garlic Ginger Sauce

Making the sauce was basically combining all the ingredients, leaving the oil to the very last. Nobu: The Cookbook comments that the chili garlic sauce should be strained; but I’ve noticed a similar comment being made about the spicy lemon dressing and in later books that comment seemed to be dropped.  On the subject of dropped items, the langoustine dish as described in the cookbook was paired with celery leaves; but Whole Foods didn’t have the ingredient. So I had to resort to my copy of The Flavor Bible and figure out what to pair with the langoustine.  Since I had snow peas earlier in the week, I thought about the mild chili pepper pairing as described in Nobu Now‘s Grilled Ise Lobster With Spicy Lemon Garlic Sauce (p. 170).  As it would turn out, my wife had purchased shishito peppers late this week.  So there it was: Grilled Langoustine, Shishito Peppers And Spicy Lemon Garlic Sauce.

So paid a visit to Vinny at Pescheria@Eataly Boston and picked up my langoustines and got them home on ice.

Ask for Vinny - he'll help you out!

Ask for Vinny – he’ll help you out!

So how to cook these langoustines?  Nobu: The Cookbook (pgs 50, 51) indicated that the langoustines be split, the meat

Prepping my fresh langoustines

Prepping my fresh langoustines

sprinkled with some salt/pepper (4:1 mix anyone?) and then popped into 475 degree preheated oven.  The langoustines were to be grilled/broiled for 2-3 minutes and then roasted at 475 for a further 3-4 minutes. Nobu Now (pg.170) talks about cooking the ise lobster, shell side DOWN for 2-3 minutes first and then flip over to cook the meat side until it slightly browns and the placed on a hot toban plate to cook for about 2-3 minutes more. My experience with preparing the Nobu Garlic Sauteed Shrimp told me that the time to flip the shrimp over would be when the flesh side plumps up while cooking shell side down.  So I decided to cook the langoustines in my grill pan, shell side down first for about 3 minutes (or until the flesh

Pan grilling the seasoned split langoustines

Pan grilling the seasoned split langoustines

plumps up) and then flip them over to cook for about 2 or 3 more minutes.  While I was cooking the langoustines, my wife volunteered to roast a batch of shishto peppers.  Once everything was ready, half the shishitos went onto a plate, followed by

Oven roasted shishito bedded pan grilled langoustines With Nobu Spicy Lemon Garlic Sauce

Oven roasted shishito bedded pan grilled langoustines With Nobu Spicy Lemon Garlic Sauce

 the langoustines.  I then carefully poured in 4 tablespoons of the sauce into the plate and we were ready to try the dish.  My wife raved about the dish.  She was skeptical how the langoustines would taste having been pan grilled.  I thought it was a great dish too; but I must say, it was difficult cooking them in the grill pan.  Some of the langoustine innards basically fell out when I flipped them to cook the last three minutes.  I *would* like to retry this dish by cooking the langoustines in the grill/oven as in the original recipe from Nobu: The Cookbook.  In that way, I would be able to taste the langoustines in its entirety

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

