Thanksgiving Omakase At Home 2016

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –

* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2015/12/05/thanksgiving-omakase-at-home-2015/
* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2012/05/29/engagement-anniversary-omakase-at-home-2012/
* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2011/12/06/pumpkinkabocha-soup/
* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2016/11/15/thanksgiving-fried-apple-pie

Ah, the best laid plans of mice and men….

So when I got down to my parent’s home, I discovered a bunch of unexpected surprises. I got requested to add more vegetables to the holiday meal.  So for the opening appetizer, I swapped out the planned tomato ceviche and ikura and chose dashi-marinated bamboo shoot (Nobu’s Vegetarian Cookbook, p. 48) and carrot kinpira (inspired by the burdock kinpira dish I had recently at Pabu Boston) as the offering.

Shuko

Appetizer: Edamame With Truffle Salt, Nobu Dashi Marinated Takenoko, Carrot Kimpira, Roasted Baby Eggplant With Kinzanji Miso And Orange Zest

Appetizer: Edamame With Truffle Salt, Nobu Dashi Marinated Takenoko, Carrot Kimpira, Roasted Baby Eggplant With Kinzanji Miso And Orange Zest

Continuing in the vegetarian tilt, I roasted and chilled pre-sliced portabello which I use it as sashimi and then treat it as New Style Sashimi Nobu-Style

Sashimi

Roast Portabello Nobu New Style Sashimi

Roast Portabello Nobu New Style Sashimi

One of the other surprises I ran into was a request to do a ‘cooked’ salad course.  I’m sort of glad I’ve been documenting all the dishes I’ve been doing because I found the roasted asparagus with Nobu Garlic Miso dressing to answer the request.

Salad

Roast Asparagus 'Salad', Nobu Garlic Miso Dressing, Salmon Roe Caviar

Roast Asparagus ‘Salad’, Nobu Garlic Miso Dressing, Salmon Roe Caviar

….and then I managed to get back to the original menu plan!

Seafood

Seared Toro Steak, Wilted Naganegi,Garlic Sake Soy

Seared Toro Steak, Wilted Naganegi,Garlic Sake Soy

The garlic sake soy was a mix of 3 T + 1 t each of nikiri sake and soy and 1/2 t of grated garlic (Nobu: The Sushi Book, p. 151). In the Seared Tuna Nigiri (p. 60) recipe, the scored/seared chutoro slices would be marinated in the garlic sake soy for 2 minutes.  Here, I would be cooking toro like a steak in prior Nobu cookbooks and then using the garlic sake soy as a sauce.

Meat

Pan Roasted Duck Breast, Wilted Naganegi, Cucumber Spears, Tianmianjang, Succotash 'Salsa'

Pan Roasted Duck Breast, Wilted Naganegi, Cucumber Spears, Tianmianjang, Succotash ‘Salsa’

My wife caught me with one more surprise.  She made a request that we pass on the mandarin pancakes normally associated with beijing duck since we were going to have sushi rice in the chirashi at the end of the meal. My mother also thought that was a good idea, so presented the dish without an intended starch.

Soup

Kabocha Potage

Kabocha Potage

‘Sushi’

Individual Chirashi, Fresh Wasabi

Individual Chirashi, Fresh Wasabi

One of the nice things I learned from this dish was the amount of sushi vinegar my family liked in their sushi rice. The bowl I used held about 7 liquid ounces.  I’m guessing that I filled the bowl about 6 oz full and used 2 teaspoons of sushi vinegar per portion.

Dessert

Fried Apple Wonton 'Pie' With Cinnamon Sugar 'Dust' a la Tosi, Ginger Ice Cream

Fried Apple Wonton ‘Pie’ With Cinnamon Sugar ‘Dust’ a la Tosi, Ginger Ice Cream

…and good thanksgiving dinner was enjoyed by all!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by chefkreso on March 1, 2017 - 8:53 am

    Everything looks so yummy!

Leave a Reply

