Thanksgiving Fried Apple Pie

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –
* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2016/11/12/momofuku-apple-pie-filling-part-2/
* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2016/10/25/momofuku-apple-pie-filling-part-1/

…and so I finally arrived at a point where I could make sure I could make the dessert for my Thanksgiving dinner this year. The only thing left now was try to assemble, cook and plate the dessert. While I knew I was going to pair ginger ice cream with the dessert, I still needed to make sure I could finish the dessert with cinnamon sugar dusting.

...for the cinnamon sugar dusting

…for the cinnamon sugar dusting

As far as its microbatch, I had to mix up a tablespoon of confectioner’s suar, 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/8 teaspoon of salt.

1 T confectioners sugar,1/2 t of cinnamon, 1/8 t of salt

1 T confectioners sugar,1/2 t of cinnamon, 1/8 t of salt

blended for garnishing

blended for garnishing

Once I set the cinnamon sugar dusting aside, I turned my attention to getting gyoza/wonton wrappers, apple pie filling and a little container of water to seal the apple pie/dumpling together.  Onto a skin, I added 1 teaspoon of the apple pie filling, moistened the

assembling the 'pie'

assembling the ‘pie’

edge of the dumpling wrapper and then folded the wrapper over the filling, and sealed it.  I then went and did the chef-y thing:

Doing that chef'y thing. and fork marking/sealing the edge

Doing that chef’y thing. and fork marking/sealing the edge

I took a fork and used its tines to mark the edge to make it look sort of pie-like.  My wife came into watch me make the dessert

...she wanted two pies for herself!

…she wanted two pies for herself!

and then piped up that she wanted me to make two just for her!  When all the ‘pies’ were done, I got out a skillet, preheated it on high and then dropped it back to 50% max power and added some grapeseed oil (I suppose I could have used the rice oil like they use at Nobu).

Frying up the pies

Frying up the pies (about 2 minutes a side)

So I got the ‘pies’ into the pan and cooked it about 2 minutes per side to get them nice and golden brown.  Once they were done, I got them out of them pan and onto a rack while I prepped the cinnamon sugar and a mesh to dust the ‘pies’.

Plating the pies and garnishing them with the cinnamon sugar dust

Plating the pies and garnishing them with the cinnamon sugar dust

Once I got the pies onto the plate I dusted them with the cinnamon sugar powder and added a quenelle of ginger ice cream.

Thanksgiving fried apple pie, cinnamon sugar dust, ginger ice cream

Thanksgiving fried apple pie, cinnamon sugar dust, ginger ice cream

My wife took one bite and was so surprised how good the combination was.  I got asked if there was anymore of the apple pie filling left, to which I answered in the positive.  She declared she was going to make more of these the following night.  I guess the dessert was a hit.

 

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

