Thinking about a scallop appetizer from Yoshihiro Murata

While preparing a recent meal, I noticed I had some leftover Nobu Ceviche Sauce.  This started me thinking about looking ahead to the holiday meals for the end of the year. I wanted to come up with a scallop appetizer for one of those meals.  It occurred to me that  I could potentially build a scallop trio.  So why not do a scallop from Yoshihiro Murata, a scallop from Nobu Matsuhisa and a scallop from either Masaharu Morimoto or Tatsu Nishino.

I was pretty comfortable with doing a cooked scallop from Matsuhisa’s collection of recipes.  So I thought I should consider doing a scallop for Murata-sama. What I had in mind was Murata’s Baked Scallop Dusted With Karasumi (bottarga) from his book, Kaiseki: The Exquisite Cuisine Of Kyoto’s Kikunoi Restaurant (p. 183).  The dish is basically a broiled cooked scallop, painted with egg yolk and topped with warmed grated bottarga and finished a final light broiling.  In warming the bottarga, Murata-sama says to warm the bottarga  with hot

Fresh scallop, seasoned with several 3 fingered pinches of 4:1 salt/pepper mix and 5 tablespoons of grated bottarga to be toasted

Fresh scallop, seasoned with several 3 fingered pinches of 4:1 salt/pepper mix and 5 tablespoons of grated bottarga to be toasted

water and dry.   I thought I could simplify the warming process by toasting several tablespoons of already grated bottarga in a oval ramekin in my

toasting the bottarga

toasting the bottarga

countertop oven.  I chose to toast the grated bottarga for about five minutes.  I suppose I could have reused my countertop oven to broil the

bottarga nicely toasted

bottarga nicely toasted

scallops, but I chose to pan sear the scallops at 4 minutes/side on medium (50% max) heat.  Now it would be a just a matter of turning over

Murata Hotate Kaibashira Karsumi-ko yaki, arugala, Seared Scallop With Nobu Ceviche Sauce

Murata Hotate Kaibashira Karsumi-ko yaki (left), Arugala, Seared Scallop With Nobu Ceviche Sauce (right)

the top of the seared scallop onto the toasted bottarga and then plating it along with a companion scallop flavored with Nobu Ceviche Sauce.  The Murata-style scallop had a briny cooked sweetness complemented with the toasty umami notes from the warmed bottarga.  Even outside of the meals for the holiday schedule, I could see preparing this to make a wonderful start to any meal.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

