Christmas Lamb Chops And Ron Siegel Shallot ‘Marmalade’

So I wanted to do something different for Christmas dinner 2015.   Then I thought – lamb ribchops.  Ok – so lamb and beans was a classic pairing and I wanted to add a twist.  That twist came in the form of Chef Ron Siegel’s ‘Shallot Marmalade’.  The recipe for the shallot marmalade can be found here: http://www.sfgate.com/food/recipes/detail/?rid=16880&sorig=qs

To make the shallot marmalade required the following ingredients –

That's a lot of shallots

That’s a lot of shallots

...the rest of the ingredients for the 'marmalade'

…the rest of the ingredients for the ‘marmalade’

  • 1 1/2 cups Pinot Noir
  • 1/2 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 1/2 pounds shallots, peeled and finely diced
  • Kosher or sea salt and freshly ground black pepper (and again I would use 4:1 salt/pepper mix)

So I began by dicing up the shallots but not too finely as per Chef Siegel’s note to avoid the release of sulfuric juices.  Once that

fine dice of shallots

fine dice of shallots

was done, I began burning off alcohol from 1 1/2 cups of Laetita Pinot Noir – bringing it to a boil and letting it simmer for a couple of minutes.  The red wine vinegar and sugar was added to the simmering wine; I stirred the pot until I didn’t feeling any ‘sandiness’ on bottom of the pot (dissolving the sugar).  After I added the shallots, I stirred the shallot/wine mixture to make sure that the shallot and

Cooking down the shallots into a 'marmalade'

Cooking down the shallots into a ‘marmalade’

wine was uniformly mixed.  I set the pot on simmer and put a lid on it – slightly off center – to cook down for about 2 hours. Near the end of the cooking, I mixed in about 1/2 teaspoon of the 4:1 salt/pepper mix.

shallot marmalade after two hour simmer

shallot marmalade after two hour simmer

As before I was boiled some edamame and prepared the lamb chops much as I would if I were doing a Nobu version of  lamb chops (seasoned, seared and finished in a 400 degree oven for about 8-10 minutes). To serve, I mounded about a rice bowl worth of shallot marmalade in the middle of plate.  I would lay the lamp ribchops against the mound and then surrounded the plate gaps between the ribchops with edamame.

Photo3092

Christmas dinner was a demitasse pumpkin soup, field greens with Bouchon vinaigrette and then the lamb ribchops.  Everyone commented how the marmalade provided a wonderfully subtly sweet/tart contrast to the richness of the lamb chops.  Interestingly, this recipe made a great deal of the marmalade which I could see being used for other rich grilled proteins.

…..oh….and dessert was baked apple a la mode!

 

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

