Microbatch Vinegared Sushi Rice

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –

* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2012/05/28/making-sushi-rice/

…The basic rice-to-vinegar ratio is 6:1 or 1 cup of vinegar for every 6 cups of uncooked rice…
Nobu:The Cookbook (p. 158)

1 rice cooker rice cup of rice measured out

1 rice cooker rice cup of rice measured out

Sometimes I want sushi rice with dinner (think chirashi for two) but I don’t want to make a big amount of rice for sushi. So, I

Current home rice cooker

Current home rice cooker

was thinking – how do I make a microbatch?  Matsuhisa-sama suggests 1 cup of uncooked rice (which turned out to be basically 6oz by weight), should be paired with  1 oz (or 2 tablespoons) of sushi vinegar.

So how much cooked rice did that make?  As it would turn out, the amount of cooked rice was about 2 cups (unpressed).

Amount of cooked rice

Amount of cooked rice…

So, I *was* planning on mixing in 2 tablespoons of Nobu’s sushi vinegar.  However, my wife wanted me to try using half that amount.  So I decided to try it her way.  So I mixed in the sushi vinegar into the rice much like the way Iron Chef Morimoto

Preparing sushi nori sheets for onigiri

Preparing sushi nori sheets for onigiri

does.  I set aside the rice to sit  covered for 10 minutes.   In the meantime, I prepped 2 sheets of nori into 4 for onigiri and then

Onigiri molder for sushi rice

Onigiri molder for sushi rice

dragged out an onigiri molder that I’d had for years.  Then I started molding the sushi rice and put them onto the top half of a

Getting ready to make onigiri

Getting ready to make onigiri

nori sheet.

Onigiri time...

Onigiri time…

Then I simply folded over the sheet and plated it like a Nobu-style taco.

Onigiri ready for plating

Onigiri ready for plating

So dinner was tofu miso soup, Nobu baked nappa cabbage, salt grilled mackerel and onigiri.

Dinner is served

Dinner is served

Tasting the onigiri, my wife seemed rather pleased with it. I barely tasted the sushi vinegar; when I remake it for myself, I’ll use the full 2 tablespoons.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

