Inspired by an Iron Chef Dish

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –

* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/crispy-skin-chicken-nobu-style/
* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2012/10/16/tori-kawa-yaki-grilled-crispy-chicken-skin/

…Fried papaya wrapped with yuba is used as the skin of Peking ducks are used, and sandwiched between toasted bread spread with sweet miso and leeks.  –Iron Chef: The Official Book (p. 162, Battle 174:Papaya, Wakiya v Chen)

…Tian Mian Jiang is made from fermented wheat flour use mostly in the northern dishs.
http://forums.egullet.org/topic/76353-theres-bean-sauce-and-theres-bean-sauce  (Posted 24 October 2005 – 03:31 PM)

I’d been looking at this as a dinner concept for a long time since I got the Iron Chef book.   What I thought I’d try to make would be deboned roasted chicken thighs, lightly toasted slices of italian bread, shredded scallions, thin spears of cucumbers and tian mian jang (aka sweet bean/flour sauce).  To begin the preparations, I deboned

stripped bones for another day

stripped bones for another day

some chicken thighs by ‘frenching’ the meat away from the bone (the bones I put into a plastic ziplock bag and into the freezer for making stock on another day).  After seasoning wih 4:1 salt/pepper mix, the chicken would be roasted as I normally do at 450 degrees F for about 30 minutes. Since tian mian jang is similar to hoisin sauce, I was going to cook 1/3 cup of  it in a

tian mian jang

tian mian jang

saucepan for about 4 minutes over medium heat to get rid of the rawness of the tian mian jang.

Heating the tian mian jang through before spreading it on the bread

Heating 5T+1t tian mian jang through before spreading it on the bread

( https://www.ming.com/food-and-wine/recipes/simply-ming-season-9/turkey-spring-rolls-with-hoison-lime-dipping-sauce-and-bacon-brussels-sprouts.htm )

A finished plate of the 'beijing chicken' with another piece of boneless simply roasted chicken thigh

A finished plate of the ‘beijing chicken’ with another piece of boneless simply roasted chicken thigh

After toasting some slices of trimmed bread, I spread 1 side of the bread with the warmed tian mian jang, covered it with some shredded scallion, placed some thinly sliced cucumber spears on top and then covered it with sliced roasted boned chicken thigh meat (crispy skin still on). Both my wife and I were in agreement – many of the beijing duck flavors were there and clearly the tian mian jang was the right thing to use instead of the hoisin sauce many places use.  It was tasty enough that I wanted to go back to the kitchen to make another ‘sandwich’:

a side a toast spread with tian mian jang

a side of toast spread with tian mian jang

laying down a bed of shredded scallion

laying down a bed of shredded scallion

Topping with the cucumber an sliced chicken

Topping with the cucumber an sliced chicken

I think if I were to do this again, I think I wouldn’t toast the bread as much.  I could see using a  pan roasted duck breast and offering this as a part of Thanksgiving tasting menu twist.  I like what I made; I’m going to continue to work on refining this dish for the Thanksgiving meal. “Beijing tartine”, anyone?

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

