I got a Christmas present!

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –

* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2011/01/12/morimoto-nyc-3 (26 Dec 2014)

My wife and I recently had an omakase bar dinner at Morimoto NYC.  One of the courses (course #4) was the torched spanish mackerel ‘sashimi salad’ with shungiku, house cured shaved katsuo,   house cured shaved karasumi,    freeze dried tofu, shichimi mentaiko and  mortadella oil:

Torched spanish mackerel 'sashimi salad' course

Torched spanish mackerel ‘sashimi salad’ course

I commented to Omae-san how delicious the ‘salad’ was (he’d advised that each bite should have a bit of each element from the plate) and how I thought the karasumi tied it altogether.  The house cured karasumi (that Omae-san made himself) made me think of shaved parmesan on the initial bite (and then the briny fish notes took over) and the shaved cured bonito made me think of bacon on its intial bite (and then the bonito fish notes took over). I guess my expression must’ve communicated to him how much I liked the dish – so much so that as my wife were getting ready to leave after the omakase meal, he brought this out to me to take home:

A gift from Omae-san at the end of the omakase dinner at Morimoto, NYC: House cured karasumi!

A gift from Omae-san at the end of the omakase dinner at Morimoto, NYC: House cured karasumi!

That was a great Christmas present! I already’ve got ideas about how I want to use it! Thank you so much Omae-san!

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

