‘Fast’ Hatcho Miso Chocolate Pudding

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –

* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2013/10/26/theme-and-variations-miso-fudge-brownies-soba-salsa/

So I wanted to make a dessert to end my family’s 2014 Christmas meal. I wanted to do something relatively easy and I thought about doing A hybrid recipe based on Nobu Miami Miso Chocolate Mousse & NYTimes’ Mark Bittman’s Cornstarch Pudding Recipe.  Mark Bittman’s constarch pudding base recipe can be found online here:

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/02/21/dining/211mrex.html?_r=1&oref=slogin

For this recipe, I carried over the amount of hatcho miso (3/4 t) and rice vinegar (1/2 t) for the pudding.  And so the resulting recipe appeared as –

Time: 30 minutes, plus chilling
2 oz 85% chocolate, finely chopped/shaved (Whole Foods, Edgewater, NJ only had 70%)
3/4 t hatcho (red) miso (remember, it already has salt in it)
1/2 t rice vinegar
2 1/2 cups half-and-half or heavy cream
5 oz+2t sugar
3 tablespoons cornstarch

Breaking down the chocolate discs to flavor the pudding

Breaking down the chocolate discs to flavor the pudding

10 tablespoons+2 teaspoons of sugar (~150g)

10 tablespoons+2 teaspoons of sugar (~150g)

1. I started by completely blending 4oz of heavy cream (or milk) and cornstarch and set the thickening slurry aside.

Measuring out the milk for the slurry

Measuring out the milk for the slurry

Making the milk/cornstach slurry

Making the milk/cornstarch slurry

2. I followed the slurry preparation by blending the hatcho miso and rice vinegar into a mixing cup and set that aside.

Mixing the hatcho miso and the vinegar

Mixing the hatcho miso and the vinegar

3. The sugar I placed  into a saucepot and incorporated the 2 cups of heavy cream a bit at a time,  constantly stirring, on 50% max heat.

Sugar in the saucepot

Sugar in the saucepot

...in goes the cream with the sugar

…in goes the cream with the sugar

I kept stirring the mix until all the sugar dissolved and I didn’t feel the sandiness/graininess of  sugar.

Blending the cream and the sugar over heat

Blending the cream and the sugar over heat

4. Once the sugar was dissolved, I extracted as much of the sugar/cream mixture needed to make the miso/vinegar mixture into a smooth pourable paste (set the heat of the remaining cream/sugar  mixture to minimum while  blending the miso).
5. The miso/vinegar/cream/sugar mix got poured back into the saucepot with the remaining cream/sugar mixture  and I brought the heat back up to 50% max.

miso/vinegar mixed into the cream/sugar

miso/vinegar mixed into the cream/sugar

6. I then kept stirring to blend the ingredients in the saucepot well and when the mixture started to create large boiling bubbles, I added the

Adding in the shaved chocolate

Adding in the shaved chocolate

chocolate to the saucepot.  I kept stirring the mix to blend everything well.  I wanted the mixture to take on a uniform dark chocolate colour.

Chocolate blending in. During the blending process, the mixture may look grainy

Chocolate blending in. During the blending process, the mixture may look grainy

7. Once the mixture was well blended, I added the starch/cream mixture to the pot a bit at a time and stirred to incorporate.  I continued

Adding the milk/starch slurry to the pudding mix

Adding the milk/starch slurry to the pudding mix

stirring, waiting for the mixture to go from a liquid to thick pudding  consistency.

Chocolate blending in.  During the blending process, the mixture may look grainy

Pudding mix starting to thicken

8. Once the mixture thickened, I poured the mixture into a 1 quart dish (I could have poured it into 4-6 ramekins if I wanted to make individual pudding servings)
9. Mark Bittman mentions about putting a plastic wrap directly onto the pudding (once it’s cooled to room temperature) to prevent the formation of a ‘skin’ (or do not cover you like skin).  But I refridgerated the whole thing until chilled, Mark Bittman suggests serving within a day that the pudding is made (optional – garnish with whipped cream).

Finished pudding (chilled), ready for the graham cracker pie crust

Finished pudding (chilled), ready for the graham cracker pie crust

The recipe yields about 4 servings or enough filling for a 9″ graham cracker pie crust. When I took the pudding out of the refridgerator, I did find that the pudding was a little more liquid than I liked for the dessert.  I did go ahead and pour it into the graham cracker pie shell/crust and put it in the freezer to set for 2 hours before dinner.  The

6th course: Miso Chocolate Pudding Tart (inspired from Nobu Miami: The Party Cookbook)

6th course: Miso Chocolate Pudding Tart (inspired from Nobu Miami: The Party Cookbook)

finished result turned out as a cross between the pudding tart which I’d envisioned and an ice cream cake!  I think that if I did this dessert again, I’d increase the amount of corn starch to get that expected viscosity. As it would turn out, the dessert was fine and everyone loved the flavor!

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

