Tuna With Angel Hair Pasta From Nobu West

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –

https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2014/09/19/lobster-inaniwa-pasta-salad-from-nobu-now

Following in the footsteps of the lobster pasta ‘salad’, I thought I’d try the spicy tuna pasta ‘salad’ from Nobu West (p. 206).  An online copy of the recipe can be found here –

http://books.google.com/books?id=wPMvfj0W7isC&lpg=PA206&ots=WjP3hkz0nS&dq=nobu%20west%20tuna%20angel%20hair&pg=PA206#v=onepage&q=nobu%20west%20tuna%20angel%20hair&f=false

So this recipe seemed nice and quick with little fuss.  Indeed, someone else had also made the attempt at the dish (see http://stellarrecipes.blogspot.com/2012/03/tuna-with-angel-hair-pasta.html).  It had a sauce of 2 tablespoons each of olive and sesame oils, 1 tablespoon of soy sauce and 1 teaspoon of chili

The seasoning's for the tuna and capellini 'salad'

The seasoning’s for the tuna and capellini ‘salad’

Minced chives to garnish the dish

Minced chives to garnish the dish

garlic paste.  It was then just a matter of cooking up the capellini, and preparing 4oz of usuzukuri slices of

usuzukuri slices of red meat tuna

usuzukuri slices of red meat tuna

sushi/sashimi-grade tuna.

Cooking the capellini to al dente doneness in salted boiling water took only two minutes.

Cooking the capellini

Cooking the capellini

At that point, I drained the pasta through my colander

Capellini, drained, shocked and drained again

Capellini, drained, shocked and drained again

I let the capellini sit a little bit to make sure it was well drained and then added the olive/sesame oil mix and

Adding the oil seasonings

Adding the oil seasonings

mixed it in with chopsticks. Once I thought the seasoning oil was well blended with the pasta, I poured in the

Trying to blend in the oils into the pasta

Trying to blend in the oils into the pasta

soy/chili garlic mix and try to blend the seasoning well with the pasta.  While the recipe directs the tuna to be added the pasta before the oils and soy/chili garlic seasoning, I chose the add the tuna last.

adding the soy/chili garlic sauce to the angel hair

adding the soy/chili garlic sauce to the angel hair

I made the decision to add the tuna last because I had cut the tuna with the usuzukuri method. Mixing it with the pasta a lot, I felt it would tear tuna apart a bit much.  I felt the tuna slices would pick up enough of the seasonings by tossing/mixing in the tuna at the end of the process.

When I finished all the mixing, I carefully transferred the mixing bowl contents to two plates and the sprinkled over the minced chives.

A serving of the tuna with angel hair pasta

A serving of the tuna with angel hair pasta

Upon tasting the salad, I was surprised how soft the slices of tuna were.  The texture reminded me very much of the melt-in-your-mouth toro/o-toro tuna!  As for the flavors, my wife

photo 4(2)

and I agreed that we would add 1/2 to 1 teaspoon more of the chili garlic sauce the next time I prepared this ‘salad’.  This was definitely a very satisfying dish!

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

