Octopus Tiradito Nobu Style With Soy Salt

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –

* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2014/04/30/kanpachikampachi-tiradito-nobu-style/

So I thought I would do a quick appetizer to go with a SRF Kobe Rib Eye with Balsamic Teriyaki Sauce for Saturday night dinner. The sushi/sashimi area at Wegman’s  Chestnut Hill was offering octopus, ready for sushi/sashimi. So I thought, “great, let’s try octopus tiradito with soy salt”.  So this time, I made soy salt with 25g of maldon salt and 25ml of soy sauce, dried in my countertop oven for 30 minutes.

Once that was all done, I prepared:

2 tablespoons of lemon juice mixed with 1 tablespoon yuzu juice
1 teaspoon of soy salt lightly ground
1 1/2 teaspoons of rocoto chili placed into a plastic sandwich bag with a tiny corner cut out
cleaned and picked a handful of cilantro leaves

(left to right clockwise) soy salt, rocoto chli, picked cilantro leaves, lemon/yuzu juice mix

(left to right clockwise) soy salt, rocoto chli, picked cilantro leaves, lemon/yuzu juice mix

In order to do the appetizer, I got a hold of about 1/4 lb of uncut sashimi octopus from Wehman’s Chestnut Hill which I carefully sliced into thin rounds and

Octopus for sashimi

Octopus for sashimi

arranged them in the round on a plate.  Once they were on the plated, I gently spooned the lemon/yuzu juice mix over each piece.  Each piece was then covered with a cilantro leaf and a dot of rocoto chili was piped onto each of the cilantro leaves.   All that was left to do was to sprinkle a generous amount of the ground soy salt over each piece.

Plating up the soy salt tiradito

Plating up the soy salt tiradito

Upon tasting the appetizer, I realized the addition of the soy salt added another layer of flavor and textural crunch.  My wife was a little skeptical about the use of the soy salt but she too realized how tasty it was.  I must say that I’m now partial to the soy salt tiradito version.

Octopus Tiradito With Soy Salt, up close and personal

Octopus Tiradito With Soy Salt, up close and personal

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

