Moro Miso Yakitori, Nobu Melbourne Style

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –

* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2011/11/07/roasted-miso-citrus-chicken-thighs-ming-tsai-style/
* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2011/03/30/nobu-chilean-seabass-with-jalapeno-moro-miso/

As much as I linked Chef Tsai’s Miso Citrus Marinated Chicken, I wanted something a bit more savory and less sweet.  Nobu Melbourne has had an intriguing item  at:

http://www.noburestaurants.com/melbourne/menus/dinner/hot-dishes/#.U6Tri7HDVKY

which  listed a menu item: Whole Poussin with Moro Miso. 

A picture of the dish can be found here:

http://saucythyme.blogspot.com/2011/09/nobu-melbourne.html

I’ve tried replicating this dish based on Matsuhisa-sama’s Chilean Seabass With Jalapeno Moro Miso on several occasions, but I was never quite satisfied.  So I thought I’d pull a trick out of Chef Ming Tsai’s hat.  Re-reading the miso citrus marinade notes, Chef Tsai commented that, “…Both sake and ponzu help ‘cook’ the marinade into animal and fish protein” (see http://www.ming.com/food-and-wine/recipes/season-1/miso-citrus-marinade.htm). Indeed, sake is also a component in Matsuhisa-sama’s Saikyo Miso Marinade for his famous black cod miso dish.  With that in mind, I scaled the amount of sake to be mixed with the moro (moromi) miso and jalapeno to be:

Marinade components

Marinade components

3 oz sake
2 packages of moromi miso (2 x 4.4 oz)
1 large jalapeno finely minced

measured out sake

measured out sake

jalapeno ready to be seeded and trimmed before mincing

jalapeno ready to be seeded and trimmed before mincing

So for the marinade, I measured out the sake and the minced up the jalapeno and poured in the sake.

minced jalapeno and sake

minced jalapeno and sake

Then I just added the moro miso and stirred the marinade mixture.

Loading in the moro miso into the marinade

Loading in the moro miso into the marinade

Marinade's ready...

Marinade’s ready…

I filled a ziploc bag with about 2lbs of chicken thighs and then poured in the marinade.

chicken ready to receive the marinade....

chicken ready to receive the marinade….

marinade mixed in with the chicken

marinade mixed in with the chicken

The marinated chicken went into the refridgerator to marinate overnight into Saturday evening. To cook the chicken, I thought that I’d I roast chicken thighs at 450 degrees F for about 30 minutes; and

Chicken With Moro Miso ready for the oven

Chicken With Moro Miso ready for the oven

with the miso marinade, I thought I’d roast them at that temperature for 15 minutes and then tent the chicken with foil and then finish cooking them for the remainder of the cooking time.  So I wiped the marinade off the surface of the thighs and popped them into my counter top oven and cooked them as I had planned.

Moro Miso Marinated Roasted Chicken Thighs

Moro Miso Marinated Roasted Chicken Thighs

While the thighs were cooking, my wife volunteered to help out with cooking some vegetables in the grill pan.

Side Of Pan Grilled Vegetables (squash, carrots, asparagus, eggplant)

Side Of Pan Grilled Vegetables (squash, carrots, asparagus, eggplant)

Upon tasting the chicken, my wife and I both noticed that the jalapeno/moro miso flavor had indeed penetrated deeper into the chicken thigh protein.  This is pretty much what I was trying to accomplish.   After some discussion, we both suspected that if we let it marinate for a longer period of time, say two or three days, the marinade might go much further into the chicken thigh.  I’m definitely want to make that attempt in the near future.

 

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

