Rearranging Nobu’s Baked Monkfish

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –

* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2013/06/29/nobu-miami-marinated-grilled-short-ribs/

So I had some leftover shallot tosa-zu saw from a few days ago and was wondering what to do with it until I came across Baked Monkfish Medley With Tosa-Zu (Nobu: The Cookbook, p. 102). The online recipe can be found here:

http://books.google.com/books?id=Ch2kiePz4M4C&lpg=PA102&ots=ssK55DJwVD&dq=Baked%20Monkfish%20Medley%20With%20Tosa-Zu&pg=PA102#v=onepage&q=Baked%20Monkfish%20Medley%20With%20Tosa-Zu&f=false

While I realized I didn’t have chives or pink peppercorns, I thought, why not simplify the dish and use the shallot tosa-zu instead? To start, I thought I’d make crisp garlic chips from 4 garlic cloves to

Thinly slicing up 4 cloves of garlic to be deep fried as garlic chips

Thinly slicing up 4 cloves of garlic to be deep fried as garlic chips

frying up the garlic chips in rice oil

frying up the garlic chips in rice oil

top the baked monkfish and top that again with finely minced green part of one scallion.  I then

cutting up the monkfish fillets and placing them into the ramekins (at the top of the picture)

cutting up the monkfish fillets and placing them into the ramekins (at the top of the picture)

prepared a pound of monkfish fillet into 1″ chunks, seasoned them with about 3 3-finger pinches of 4:1 salt/pepper mix.  Once the ramekins were ready, I got them into a pre-heated 400 degree F oven and roasted them for 10 minutes. Now while, the original recipe said to pull them out after 5 or 6 minutes and top them with the garlic and then baked them for 2 minutes longer, I knew I didn’t have the ovenproof plates for the presentation.  So that’s why I chose to make garlic chips to finish the cooked monkfish and them top them with minced scallions.

Once the fish was cooked, I put a 4″ ring mold onto my plates and stuffed the mold with the

loading the monkfish and garlic chips onto the plate

loading the monkfish and garlic chips onto the plate

monkfish chunks, followed with a portion of the garlic chips and finally the scallions.  Now all I had to do was to pair the plates with some haricots vert much like the Nobu Dubai dish I recently came across –

So the dish began to take shape –

The dish, just before saucing....

The dish, just before saucing….

and then I carefully added about 4 tablespoons of the shallot tosa-zu sauce to each plate.

the finished dish

the finished dish!

Upon tasting it, both my wife and I were surprised how well the shallot tosa-zu combined with the monkfish.  While I’ve had the original tosa-zu before, we both liked the complexity of the shallots in the sauce for this dish.  I think if I had to do this dish again, I would definitely add the pink peppercorns for that little added punch.

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

