Theme And Variations: Miso Fudge Brownies, Soba Salsa

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –

* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2013/09/29/brownies
* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2010/11/16/nobu-sobabuckwheat-risotto
* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2011/09/21/lamb-ribchops-with-nobu-brown-rice-salsa

So I decided I wanted to try a twist on the brownie recipe after taking a gander at Nobu Miami: The Party Cookbook’s Milk Chocolate Miso Mousse (p. 171).  Since I wasn’t sure how this would turn out, I decided to make a half batch of the brownies from last time and throw in the miso twist using the milk chocolate miso mousse recipe as guidence.  On the side, I began by mixing 3/4 teaspoon of hatcho (red) miso, and 1/2 teaspoon of rice vinegar.

red 'hatcho' miso as specified in the Nobu milk chocolate miso mousse recipe

red ‘hatcho’ miso as specified in the Nobu milk chocolate miso mousse recipe

A look at the hatcho miso product package

A look at the hatcho miso product package

hatcho miso and rice vinegar

hatcho miso and rice vinegar

Right after the step where I’d added the beaten eggs to the chocolate and sugar, I added the miso/vinegar blend and mixed it in to so that it was evenly distributed.  I should mention that I added one other twist, given the feedback I’d gotten about the last batch of brownies  – I dropped the amount of sugar by 25%; so in this particular case, it was 3/4 cups of sugar. As I’d mentioned, I thought of pairing coffee ice cream with this brownie.  I in fact tried it and offered it

miso fudge brownies and coffee ice cream

miso fudge brownies and coffee ice cream

to my visiting in-laws and it was a big hit! I took a sample to the office and my coworkers (many of whom are from Europe) loved it.  I guess we have a keeper.

* * *

So while it was easy enough to make Nobu’s genmai salsa, I thought to my self – why not try buckwheat (as found in the buckwheat risotto recipe from his first book)?  So I went ahead and boiled 4oz of buckwheat, drained and shocked it.  At that point it was just a matter of mixing up all the genmai salsa ingredients, less the brown rice.  Once that was ready, I mixed in the appropriate amount of buckwheat and, voila, a perfect foil to crisp broiled mackerel!

Mackerel And Soba Salsa

Mackerel And Soba Salsa

Matsuhisa-sama – thank you for sharing the recipes for the original genmai salsa and the milk chocolate miso mousse!

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

