Morimoto Sushi Rice Risotto (aka “shari-sotto”)

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –

* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2012/05/28/making-sushi-rice
* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2011/03/30/nobu-chilean-seabass-with-jalapeno-moro-miso

Back on 10 Oct 2007, I attended a Boston University demonstration/lecture by Iron Chef Masaharu Morimoto.  At the end of the lecture and before the tastings, I asked Iron Chef Morimoto about his ‘shari-sotto’ from his cookbook.  I confirmed it was the same dish that he created during the sushi battle on the original Iron Chef Japan series.


(see time indices 0:40-1:04)

And while the dish stood as a course by itself in the sushi battle, I asked Iron Chef Morimoto what he would serve


(see time indices 1:36-1:46)

with the shari-sotto dish. Iron Chef Morimoto suggested that an akamiso/hatchomiso/moromi miso marinated grilled fish would pair well with the dish.

The recipe for the sushi rice risotto can be found on p. 60 of Morimoto: The New Art Of Japanese Cooking or can be found online here – http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/sushi-rice-risotto-recipe/index.html

So I thought I’d go ahead and try to make the shari-sotto paired with 3 day moromi miso marinated chilean seabass (no jalapeno a la Nobu, this time). So I went and made a half batch of Iron Chef Morimoto’s sushi vinegar from Morimoto: The New Art Of Japanese Cooking (p. 48)

Ingredients

1/8 c salt (1 oz)
1/4 c sugar
1/4 c white wine vinegar (since I didn’t have access to japanese red vinegar/sake lees vinegar)
1/4 c rice vinegar (added at the very end of the process)

Into a pan I placed the salt, sugar and white wine vingar and heated/mixed it until most of the salt/sugar had dissolved. Just before the mixture came to a boil, I took it off the heat and added the rice vinegar and stirred until all the salt/sugar particles had dissolved.

A (half) batch of Morimoto's vinegar for sushi rice

A (half) batch of Morimoto’s vinegar for sushi rice

So I got together all the ingredients I needed to make the shari-sotto – 2 1/2 tablespoons sushi

Seasoning ingredients for the shari-sotto

Seasoning ingredients for the shari-sotto

vinegar,3 cups Dashi,1 teaspoon light-colored soy sauce. I weighed out 12 oz of cooked rice (which

12 oz cooked rice, weighed out

12 oz cooked rice, weighed out

turned out to be about ‘2 cups’).

12 oz of cooked rice by 'measure'

12 oz of cooked rice by ‘measure’ (about 2 cups)

At this point, I placed the rice into the wooden bowl and then carefully distributed the sushi rice vinegar over it and incorporated the two together using slashing strokes. Once the sushi rice was

Sushi rice!

Sushi rice!

made, I let it sit for about 10 minutes before using it.  At the end of 10 minutes, I transferred the sushi rice to a pot and poured in the dashi.  As per the instructions, I brought the whole thing to a boil and then reduced the heat to MEDIUM rather than medium low as stated in the original recipe.  I let the simmer for about 6 minutes instead of the 3 to 4 so that the shari-sotto liquid would reduce much like in the video before pouring in the 2 beaten eggs.  Just before adding the eggs, I went ahead and poured in a teaspoon of usukuchi soy sauce, stirred to blend the soy sauce in and then carefully

usukuchi soy sauce added to season the shari-sotto

usukuchi soy sauce added to season the shari-sotto

spooned in the beaten egg on top (and a little to the side of the pot) of the sushi rice/dashi/soy mixture.

slowly spooning in the beaten egg atop the shari-sotto mixture as in the video

slowly spooning in the beaten egg atop the shari-sotto mixture as in the video

Because I felt the mixture was hot enough, instead of cooking the egg on the heat for 10-15 seconds more, I opted

The beaten eggs finishing the cooking process off the stove

The beaten eggs finishing the cooking process off the stove

to take the pot off the stove to let the eggs cook with the residual heat.  At that point I began carefully dishing the

Morimoto Sushi Rice Risotto

Morimoto Sushi Rice Risotto

shari-sotto into bowls and the garnishing with fresh finely minced scallions (I forgot to buy kizami nori!).

As I mentioned earlier, three days prior to making this meal, I went and got some chilean sea bass fillet and marinated it in moromi miso.  While I was making the shari-sotto, the fish cooked in a 400 degree oven for about 15 minutes and my wife helped out by doing a sautee of root vegetables (serving as a bed for the fish).

Moromi miso marinated chilean seabass on root vegetable sautee and Morimoto Sushi Rice Risotto

Moromi miso marinated chilean seabass on root vegetable sautee and Morimoto Sushi Rice Risotto

On tasting the meal, both my wife and I agreed that following Iron Chef Morimoto’s suggestion about the fish was a good idea.  The richness and bold flavors of the fish contrasted well with the pleasant mild sushi vinegar sourness in the shari-sotto – almost refreshing the palate.  The original recipe is meant to serve four.   I will definitely halve the recipe when I make this again for just my wife and I.  Thank you Iron Chef Morimoto for sharing this recipe.

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

