Preparing Bottarga/Karasumi

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –

* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2012/08/20/recreating-a-matsuhisa-omakase-dish/

So I had vacuum-packed bottarga/karasumi from Taiwan that I had stored in my freezer.  And since I was out of my last batch of bottarga from Boston’s North End, I wanted to prepare the karasumi from Taiwan for use (i.e. grate and store in glass containers) in future dishes.

vacuum packed bottarga/karasumi from Taiwan

vacuum packed bottarga/karasumi from Taiwan

So I got the bottarga out of the freezer and let it thaw in the main part of the refridgerator for a day or two.  Once thawed, I had to peel off the waxy coating.  My wife recommended that Taiwanese

Getting the waxy coating off the bottarga/karasumi

Getting the waxy coating off the bottarga/karasumi

karasumi needed to be ‘toasted’ before you could actually eat it.  After a few conversations with my mother-in-law, we determined that the karasumi needed to be toasted for about 5 minutes/aside at about 200 degrees.

'toasted' karasumi

‘toasted’ karasumi

Once the karasumi was toasted, it was just a matter of grating both lobes. As I observed from my

Grating all that bottarga/karasumi!

Grating all that bottarga/karasumi!

experience of puree’ing corn (and passing it through the tamis), the grating took a lot of patience, endurance and muscle.  And as before, I appreciated myself lucky training martial arts.  The arm and hand strength and stamina paid off when undertaking the grating process.

Grated bottarga/karasumi ready for freezer storage

Grated bottarga/karasumi ready for freezer storage

Now I have bottarga/karasumi ready for whenever I want it!

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

