Steak And Grilled/Roasted Vegetables, Michiba-Style

As some may know, Iron Chef Michiba has websites for his restaurants as well as a Facebook page and what appears an ongoing cooking diary at http://www.michiba-shunsara.jp .  The diary is a nice resource that gives some insight into the culinary approach of Michiba-sama.  One of the more ‘accessible’ dishes I came across was his steak with grilled/roasted vegetables. A translation of Iron Chef Michiba’s dish can be found here –

http://translate.google.com/translate?sl=ja&tl=en&js=n&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&layout=2&eotf=1&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.michiba-shunsara.jp%2Fmenu%2Fsz039.html

The google translate didn’t help on some matters, so I went and got some additional outside help and learned the following, the vegetables used for the dish were: garlic, onion (‘tamanegi’), asparagus, baby corn, baby carrots, tokyo leeks (‘naganegi’); the sauce/person was a ‘tare’: 5 parts sake, 1 part soy, 1 part mirin and a pinch of sugar.

For the roasted vegetables –
* 2 peeled cloves of garlic/person (grilled)
* 1 nice circular slab of onion/person  (pan roasted on both sides)
* 1 1/2 asparagus (stalks split)/person (grilled)
* 2 baby corn/person (blanched and grilled)
* 2 baby carrots/person  (blanched and grilled)
* 1 Tokyo/Naganegi leeks, white part only/person , lengthwise slice all the way to the opposite side  (do not cut through to the ends), roll the leek white part 90 degrees and perform another lengthwise slice all the way to the opposite side  (do not cut through to the ends)

For tare (for 2 people)
* 10 oz sake
* 2 oz soy
* 2 oz mirin
* 2 pinches of sugar
All the ingredients would go into a saucepan and reduced down to about 7 oz (if I were going to be serving 2 people)

So it looks like the recipe is:

1. Prepare the baby corn and baby carrots by quickly blanching them and then give them a quick grill
2. foil grill the tokyo negi and the garlic (since those likely take the longest)
3. blanch and grill the asparagus

…and here is a photographic series of Iron Chef Michiba preparing the dish:

I must say, I believe one of the vegetables are fingerling potatoes

So I prepared the following vegetables:

* I roasted 4 large peeled trimmed garlic cloves and roasted them, covered, with a little rice oil for 30 minutes at 400 degrees F

Preparing to roast the garlic cloves

Preparing to roast the garlic cloves

roast garlic finished

roast garlic finished

* I cooked 1″ slabs of onion in a pan on medium heat with a little rice oil for about 5 minutes aside

Onion for searing

Onion for searing

Cutting out the onion "slabs"

Cutting out the onion “slabs”

and then set them into their serving plates

Cooking the onion slabs

Cooking the onion slabs

* I blanched 2 fingerlings/person for 15 minutes and set them aside
* I blanched 2 baby corn/person for 3 minutes and set them aside

Baby corn supplier

Baby corn supplier

Baby corn for the dish

Baby corn for the dish

* I blanched 2 baby carrots/person for 4 minutes and set them aside
* I blanched 3 asparagus halves/person for 3 minutes and set them aside

vegetables for grilling

vegetables for grilling

So I decided to do this dish without using wagyu/kobe – opting to cook ribeye steaks. Since Michiba-sama appears to cook the steaks in in the sauce, I’d planned on cooking the steaks for about 3 minutes a side. After that I would add the sauce into the same pan and cook it 2 minutes on 1 side and 1 minute on another, covered.

I got two ribeyes (my wife wanted a 3 oz portion and I decided on an 8oz portion) which I seasoned with 4:1 salt/pepper mix (yes, I know, Michiba-sama doesn’t mention doing that seasoning, but I decided to go down that route). Once I seared the steaks and let them start cooking, I put the vegetables onto a heated grill pan (medium high heat) just long enough to give them nice grill marks on each side.

Vegetables on the grill pan

Vegetables on the grill pan

When the steaks got to the point where I added the sauce, I quickly began plating the vegetables –

tare added to cook with the steak before covering the pan

tare added to cook with the steak before covering the pan

first the fingerlings, then the carrots, then the asparagus and finally the baby corn.  Once that was

Plating underway

Plating underway

done, the steaks were also  done and so I got the steaks out of the pan to rest.  After letting the steaks

Assembling Michiba's dish

Assembling Michiba’s dish

rest for about 5 minutes, I sliced them up and put them on their respective onion slabs, poured the pan sauce over them and garnished each with two  roasted garlic cloves.

Michiba's

Michiba’s Steak And Grilled/Roasted Vegetables\

As my wife and I enjoyed having this dinner, we both were surprised how well the tare/sauce complemented the steak and all vegetables and tied the whole dish together. Michiba-sama, ありがとうございます, for sharing such wonderful and accessible recipe.

Resource
Fresh baby corn        Star Market, Auburndale, MA (they’ve indicated this is to be a regular stocked item)

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

