Pancakes

When I was growing up, I remember my father making pancakes on weekends.  While they were a treat, I realized they were a bit on the dense side.  That fact became more evident when I finally had pancakes when I went out to eat on Sundays and then again, when I attended college in Connecticut.

I did have an outline of how my father used to make pancakes.  But after much searching I settled on what appeared to be a decent recipe at King Arthur’s Flour’s website: http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/simply-perfect-pancakes-recipe

When I first tried a microbatch version of the recipe, I felt the pancakes weren’t light/fluffy enough.  Additionally, I wondered about the use of sugar in the recipe, since I already knew I would be using good maple syrup with the pancakes. So, I altered the King Arthur Flour’s recipe for a microbatch to:

1/2 cup+1/8 cup flour
3/8 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons of Rumford’s baking powder
1 large egg
5 oz milk

I whisked together the dry ingredients first to evenly distribute all the components.  I beat the egg and then beat into the milk.  The egg/milk mixture was then poured into the dry mixture and then quickly whisked to make a batter which I then let sit for 15 minutes as per the instructions from the

~1/3 cup of batter for a pancake in a medium hot pan

~1/3 cup of batter for a pancake in a medium hot pan

King Arthur’s recipe.  I poured ~1/3 cup of batter for a pancake and cooked it for 2 min/side with a

making a pancake breakfast!

making a pancake breakfast!

yield of  4 ~6″ pancakes.  My wife said she really liked these – more than the one’s she’s had when we’ve gone out for breakfast!

..and a bit of good maple syrup to top off the flapjacks!

..and a bit of good maple syrup to top off the flapjacks!

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

