Piri Piri Soy Sauce Revisited

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –
* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2012/11/03/inspired-by-a-morimoto-omakase-dish/

So, my wife and I had an omakase dinner at Morimoto, NYC on 22 Dec 2012.  During the dinner, I had the privilege to chat with (Ariki) Omae-san.  During the conversation, Omae-san graciously took time to answer a question about the omakase dinner he cooked for me a year ago.  In particular, I asked him about the piri piri soy sauce that accompanied the pan roasted tai (snapper) dish he made.  He said, I’d come pretty close and said the sauce had equal parts of 1:3 soy dashi & soy shanton (which would explain the slightly sheen in the  appearance of the sauce) with pureed green chinese chili.  The sauce also had a slight red hue to it, so I thought when I’d go to make it, I’d also add a bit of red chinese chili.

So I went to the local HMart to get the chili’s which my wife helped identify as the ‘chinese chili’ (labelled as ‘finger long hot chili’).

Red/Green Chinese Chili's at HMart

Red/Green Chinese Chili’s at HMart

When I got home, I selected a green and red chili, cleaned them and trimmed off the stem.   Recalling that the

Selected chili for the sauce

Selected chili for the sauce

sauce was mildly spicy, I decided to remove the seeds and carefully trim the ribs from the peppers.

seeds and ribs removed to control the heat

seeds and ribs removed to control the heat

Once I prepared the chili’s, I got them into the food processor with a little water to get the chili’s down to size.

food processing the chilis

food processing the chilis

red/green chili combination for the sauce

red/green chili combination for the sauce

Now it was just a matter of making the soy dashi and soy shanton sauces. So I blended together 6 tablespoons dashi with 1/2 tablespoon of usukuchi soy sauce (the soy dashi portion) and 6 tablespoons of shanton stock with another 1/2 tablespoon of usukuchi soy sauce (the soy shanton potion). At that point, I added 2 teaspoons of the chili mixture and mixed it together as best I could.

The completed sauce

The completed sauce

The color and the flavor of the sauce seemed very close to what Omae-san made for the omakase pan roasted tai dish. I planned on pairing the sauce was crisp skin broiled spanish mackerel and blanched baby bok choy.

Omae-san, thank you for teaching me how to make the piri piri soy sauce and for allowing me to share the piri piri soy sauce with everyone

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

