Thomas Keller’s Apple Compote

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com  –

* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2012/09/18/nobus-daikon-fauxfoie-gras-revisited/

So why was I so interested in making an apple compote?  As Joel Robuchon comments in The Complete Robuchon (p. 493), “serve (the foie gras)…with some quickly sauteed fruit enlivened by a dash of vinegar…hot foie…calls for a little acidity“.  Well, if you remember, my idea of a fresh mandolined slice of apple with Nobu’s Daikon Faux Gras didn’t work out too well when I tried to drizzle the balsamic teriyaki over it.  The drizzled teriyaki didn’t hold it’s form and ‘bled’ all over the apple slice.  So I thought I do something a little different.  What I then thought was – why not try an apple compote and either retry the balasamic teriyaki or maybe even the soy caramel from Nobu 57?  So I managed to locate an apple compote recipe from Chef Thomas Keller that can be found here –

http://www.cookingindex.com/recipes/46869/confit-of-moulard-duck-foie-gras-with-apple-compote.htm

1/4 c honey
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
3 granny smith apples
coarse salt/black pepper to taste

Ingredients for the compote

So I began by mixing  the honey and vinegar in a saucepan and cooked it  over 50% max power to get

Portioning out the red wine vinegar

Portioning out the honey

mixture to a light syrup and that took about 8 minutes.

While the syrup was being heated, I peeled, cut and removed the seed core the apples, and cut them

Preparing the apple

into an even, small dice. As the instructions say – what’s was really important to make sure they are even in size, or they will not cook evenly.

I added the apples to the syrup, seasoned it with 1 three-fingered pinch of 4:1 salt/pepper mix, and

Everything’s in the saucepan

cooked, stirring frequently, until the apples were tender and the liquid had been absorbed – this took

cooking down the apple pieces

me about 16 minutes instead of the 25.

All done, set aside to cool

I let the compote cool and then tried it along side a little ice cream.   My wife thought the flavors were terrific.  So I guess I’ve got one part of my problem solved. Now the question is, do I use the balsamic teriyaki with the daikon faux gras, or take a chance and try something else like Nobu’s soy caramel (see http://www.marthastewart.com/316455/chestnuts-in-soy-caramel )?

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

