Nobu Warm Mushroom Salad And Salmon With Matsuhisa Dressing

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –

* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2011/08/31/seared-salmon-belly-nobu-toro-hagashi-style/

While thinking about what to make for supper tonight (25 Sep 2012), I realized I hadn’t done an entree with Matsuhisa Dressing (soy onion dressing/sauce).  The Matsuhisa Dressing was probably the second sauce/dressing I’d attempted from Nobu: The Cookbook (after the wasabi pepper). As I looked about various menu’s from the Nobu restaurants,  I noticed it was generally used for his signature sashimi salad until I came across an entry from Nobu Tokyo – http://nobutokyo-w.com/cuisine.html#tabpanel01 – there was a catering menu entry of:  Grilled Tasmanian Salmon with Matsuhisa Onion Sauce. That ‘Matsuhisa Onion Sauce‘ said to me ‘Matsuhisa Dressing‘ and I thought, “I can do that!”.  The online version of the recipe can be found here:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/wolfgang-puck/bluefin-toro-sashimi-salad-with-matsuhisa-dressing-recipe/index.html

There is an additional notation in Nobu: The Cookbook that the amount of onion is 70g.  In any event, I decided to make a double batch of the recipe. During my omakase meals at Matsuhisa, LA, I noticed that when the Matsuhisa dressing was used as part of the dish, the onion in the dressing wasn’t chunky; but rather a smooth puree.

149 grams of sweet onion (for a double batch of the dressing)

So I thought I’d better use a food processor for the onion. So I got about a half of a medium onion cut up, ready for the food processor and then rounded up the dressing’s seasoning ingredients.

Dressing seasoning ingredients (besides the salt and pepper)

So since it was  just onions in the processor, I thought adding the rice vinegar and soy sauce to help

Chopped up onion in the food processor and a mix of the soy sauce and rice vinegar for the dressing

puree the sweet onion.

Adding the rice vinegar and soy to help puree the sweet onion

Once I got the onions puree’d, I mixed up 1/2 teaspoon of the mustard mentioned in the recipe with

Mustard powder for the dressing (to be mixed with 4 teaspoon of water)

4 teaspoons of water, and then I added in 2 pinches each of salt and black pepper.  I finished making

Matsuhisa Dressing with the salt, pepper, grapeseed and sesame oils added

the dressing by adding in 2 tablespoons+2 teaspoons each of the grapeseed and sesame oils.

I also thought I’d add one more item to dinner and since I had some yuzu dressing in the refridgerator, I thought I might do the warm mushroom salad from Nobu: The Cookbook (p. 149).  Unfortunately, the recipe calls for sautee’ing the mushroom in butter; but I found a variant of the recipe from Matsuhisa-sama’s Nobu 57 outpost in mid-town NYC that used olive oil (remember, my wife wasn’t really fond of cooked butter). An online recipe of the Nobu 57 variant can be found here:

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Mushroom-Salad-with-Yuzu-Dressing-365165

Since the recipe served 6, I pretty much decided to cut the recipe by a third; butI got about 3 oz of

salad greens in their serving dishes. 5 teaspoons of yuzu dressing in the metal mixing bowl (above)

baby salad greens and 4 oz of mixed mushrooms from the market as the salad base.

Mushroom for the salad

4 teaspoons of sake for the sauteed mushrooms

After sautee’ing the mushrooms for about 7 minutes at 50% max power, I poured in 4 teaspoons of sake with 1 3-fingered pinch of salt and

Sautee’ing the mushrooms in olive oil (instead of clarified butter)

gave it another stir. The sauteed mushrooms were mixed with 5 teaspoons of yuzu dressing. The salad

Tossing the mushrooms in the yuzu dressing

was basically done, so I got the salad onto their serving plates and drizzled another teaspoon of yuzu dressing over everything.

Warm Mushroom Salad With Yuzu Dressing

In the meantime, the countertop oven had been preheating so that I could grill/broil some Alaskan King Salmon I’d gotten at Whole Foods, Newtonville.  While I prepared the salmon, my wife chipped in by blanching a portion of broccoli for both of us.   The 1 1/4 lb salmon fillet was portioned and seasoned with 4:1 salt/pepper and then placed onto a tray with non-stick foil.

1 1/4 lb of Wild Alaska King Salmon, seasoned with about 1 teaspoon of 4:1 salt/pepper mix

Once the countertop oven was nice and hot (I’d set it to 475 degrees F), I popped in the salmon to broil for about 8 minutes.  So onto the plates went a portion of broccoli, then the salmon and 5 tablespoons of the Matsuhisa Dressing.

Broiled Alaskan King Salmon With Broccoli And Matsuhisa Dressing

During dinner, my wife commented that she was happy that I was able to do the warm mushroom salad without the cooked butter. She further added the salad fell into her category of ‘dangerous food’ because it was too tasty and she was afraid that she’d each too much of it (extra helpings…). While she liked the aroma of the Matsuhisa Dressing, she was skeptical how it would pair, flavor-wise,  with the salmon and broccoli.  After trying the dish, she said she liked it so much that she wanted a bit more of the sauce with the dish and an extra bowl of rice – not unlike her reaction to the nori karashi su miso we had with the gold-leaf toro at our engagement dinner.

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

