Jody Adams’ Tuscan-Style Steak

Over the years, I’ve enjoyed going out to have dinner at Rialto Restaurant.  Two of my favorite dishes there have been the Warm Asparagus, Aged Gouda, with Sherry Vinaigrette and the Tuscan-style Steak, Arugula, Portabello and Truffle Oil. Well, I haven’t seen the asparagus dish on the menu for awhile, but they still have the steak offering. In fact, Chef Adams comments that it’s her biggest seller and she can’t take it off the menu (In The Hands Of A Chef, p. 263).   Then there are times you really would like to have a dish from the restaurant but you haven’t got the time to spend there. This past Thursday night (6 Sep 2012) was one of those times.  I felt like having a steak, so I went out and got the arugula, portabello, wedge of parmesan and NY Strip for my wife and I.   The original recipe from Jody Adams’ book (p. 263) also called for endive but the online Rialto menu apparently left it off the dish (see http://www.rialto-restaurant.com/menus/dinner ), so I chose to skip the item as well.  An online copy of the recipe can be found here:

http://www.pinelandnaturalmeats.com/tuscan-style-sirloin.html

Adjusting the portions for my wife and I, the dish called for:

2 cups of arugula (washed)
1 oz of parmesan shavings
1 5″ portablello cap (cleaned and thinly sliced)
1 tablespoon of lemon juice (I decided to twist this and replace this with yuzu juice)
2×1 tablespoon of lemon juice for garnishing (I decided to twist this and replace this with yuzu juice)
2 steaks 10-12 oz each
3 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
salt/pepper
1 teaspoon truffle oil/steak

Arugula for the meal

The portabello cap size was for 4 people; but I decided to keep it for this version.  The other thing

Fresh portabello caps

about this dish was that the steaks would be dressed at the end with 1/4 wedge of lemon juice (which I was going to swap in the yuzu juice instead).  I decided on one more twist, I would roast the

Preparing the portabello cap for the oven

portabello slices for about 10 minutes at 400 degrees before adding it to the arugula that would serve as a bed for the steak.  Reading through the recipe, it occurred to me that this was basically a steak-and-salad dish.

2 cups of arugula for the salad base

I got the steaks prepared with about a 1/2 teaspoon each of 4:1 salt/pepper mix and got it started in the pan and at the same time, popped the portabello slices (seasoned with about 3 pinches 3-fingered pinches of the 4:1 salt/pepper mix and drizzled with a bit of grapeseed oil) into the countertop oven.  Once the steaks were done, the portabello slices would be done as well (~9 minutes). At this point my wife jumped in with

An example of the Dried Princess Matsutake Mushroom

a request to add slices of a giant rehydrated hime-matsutake (aka princess matsutake), roasted like the sliced portabellos.  With the countertop oven still hot, I got the second batch of sliced mushrooms into the oven (treated the same was as the portabellos) for about 9 minutes as well.

roasting the rehydrated asian mushrooms after the roasting of the sliced portabellos

Letting the steaks rest before plating would gave me time to combine the portabello slices with the arugula and then toss them with the olive oil, the yuzu juice and about 3 3-fingered pinches of 4:1

Making the arugula/roasted portabello salad base with 3 tablespoons of Frantoia extra virgin olive oil and 1 tablespoon of yuzu juice

salt/pepper mix.  The ‘salad’ went go on the plates, followed by the roasted himematsutake,

Plating begins!

topped with the steak,  and then the shaved parmesan slices. Once the parmesan was on, 1 teaspoon of truffle oil was

Parmesan for garnishing

‘Shaved’ parmesan

was drizzled over a steak.  To finish the dish, I ‘splashed’ another tablespoon of yuzu juice over the steak.

Jody Adam’s/Rialto Restaurant Tuscan-style Steak at home!

All the flavor profiles that I remembered of the dish at the restaurant were all there.  My wife remarked how tasty the dish was and commented that the roasted pricess-matsutake came out really well.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

