Steamed Hake With Dry Miso

Previously, on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –

* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2012/03/12/how-dry-i-am-making-nobus-drydried-miso/

So as I mentioned in my write up on making dry miso, I wanted to make Nobu’s Steamed Fish With Dry Miso.  An online copy of the recipe can be found here –

http://theweek.com/article/index/94713/recipe-of-the-week-nobus-sashimi-japan-meets-miami

While making the dish appeared to be a fairly straightforward process, it was a little startling to see that the recipe allocated about 5 oz + 2 teaspoons of sake/fillet.  It almost makes one wonder if the sake combined with the sheet of konbu creates an umami steam/poaching liquid in which the fish fillet cooks.  For the version I wanted to do, I wanted to try using hake instead of chilean seabass. In a nutshell, I seasoned the fillets with 4:1 salt/pepper mix and then set each fillets on a sheet of konbu.

Sheets of konbu for the hake fillets

Then in went the 5 oz+2 teaspoons of  sake around the fillets and once that was done, I covered the cooking plates

Hake on konbu sheet with sake being added

with aluminum foil and placed them in a host steamer for 12 minutes.

Ready for the steamer

Before I got the fish going, I prepared some maitake mushrooms for sautee’ing and got some baby bok choy

Maitake mushrooms for sauteeing

ready for blanching. When the  water for the bok choy was ready, I got the fish into the steamer and then got the bok choy into the water.

Blanching the baby bok choy

With fish and vegetables cooking, I sauteed the maitake in some rice oil and seasoned them with a 2 3- finger pinches of the 4:1 salt/pepper mix at high temperature for about 2 minutes.  With the sauteed maitake finished,

Stir frying the maitake mushrooms in rice oil with a little salt/pepper

I got the bok choy drained and shocked and began transferring them onto the plates as a bed for the fish fillets.

Getting ready for the steamed hake

When the fish finished cooking, I got them out of the steamer, uncovered them and moved them to their serving plates.

.

Sake/konbu steam/poached Hake

At this point, all I really had left to do was the finish the plates by carefully drizzling 1 tablespoon each of yuzu juice, Frantoia extra virgin olive oil and then carefully covering the fish with enough dry red miso.

Adding the dried red miso to the fish

Chef Oyvind Naesheim (former head of Nobu Hong Kong and current head of Nobu Beijing) shows what the dish should look like – http://oyvindnaesheim.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/DSC_0051.jpg

…and here’s how my final dish appeared –

My finished version using hake

 

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

