Oscar Night: Flatiron Steak With Morimoto Sesame Sauce

Previously on tastingmenu.wordpress.com –

* https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2011/01/12/morimoto-nyc-3/
“Omakase For 4 12/23/11 (Ariki Omae)…’Kobe Beef, Tokyo Negi yaki, maitake, broccoli rabe, sesame sauce, matsutake foam, menegi”

What to make for dinner on Oscar night?

I was flipping through Morimoto: The New Art Of Japanese Cooking the other night when I noticed the sesame sauce recipe in the back of the book (p. 259).  I suddenly remembered that sauce (according to Omae-san) being paired with the Kobe beef course during my Dec 2011 omakase meal.

Kobe course from the 23 Dec 2011 Morimoto NYC omakase meal

On closer examination, I realized the sauce was basically equal parts toasted ground sesame paste and nikiri sake soy (where 4 tablespoons sake reduced to 2 mixed with 1 part soy).  So why not try to reproduce the omakase dish that my wife and I had at Morimoto NYC? Since my wife’s favorite cut of steak was flatiron, I thought I would try to reproduce the omakase dish as an entree sized course using flatiron steak rather than kobe.

To make the preparation a bit easier to handle, I went to Whole  Foods, Newtonville and got a small jar of toasted tahini (sesame paste), as well as the some of the  other dinner ingredients.

6 tablespoons of roasted sesame paste (tahini)

I had to go to HMart, Burlington to get the maitake since Whole Foods didn’t have any and it was nice surprise to find that HMart  also had the Tokyo Negi. That meant all I really had to do was (1) make the sauce (i.e. mix 4 tablespoons of nikiri sake with 2 tablespoons of soy to go with the sesame paste),

4 tablespoons of reduced sake (from 1/2 cup)

Morimoto Sesame Sauce: 6 tablespoons roasted tahini, 4 tablespoons nikiri sake, 2 tablespoons soy sauce

(2) get the broccoli rabe blanched and (3) get the maitake ready for a quick high temperature sautee and (4) get the white part of the Tokyo Negi roasted at ~425 degrees F for 10 minutes. Because I was

Broccoli rabe and maitake

making flatiron steaks, they’d need to be cooked for about 12 minutes (6 minutes/side).  Adding a litte grapeseed oil to a hot wok, I seared both sides of the flatiron for about a minute/side on high heat and then lowered the temperature to 50% max power and cooked the steaks about 6 minutes a side.   Once that was done, I set the steaks aside to rest and then quickly sauteed the maitake on high heat for about 2 minutes in the same pan.

Plating the dish would be pretty quick as well – 2 pieces of roasted tokyo negi, 4 branches of blanched broccoli rabe would go on the plate first followed by the sauteed maitake and the sesame sauce would be spooned/drizzled over the mushrooms.  On top of everything would go the steak and a bit more of the sesame sauce.

Flatiron Steak With Roasted Tokyo Negi, Rabe, Maitake And Morimoto Sesame Sauce

In retrospect, I think I would’ve tried to get thicker tokyo negi which to roast and then squeeze out the roasted outer husk.  Although I couldn’t get any matsutake and I didn’t have the equipment to make foam, my wife thought it was a nice enough dish for the evening and all the flavors seem to be there.

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

