Nobu Steak With Baked Eringi Mushrooms

When the weather gets damp and cold here in New England, sometimes I really want something substantial.  This past weekend was just one of those times.   One of the dishes that came to mind was the “Short Rib (Washugyu)” offering that’s on the menu at Matsuhisa, LA  (see: http://www.nobumatsuhisa.com/matsuhisa_menu.pdf ).  The “Short Rib (Washugyu)” was served to me as one of my omakase courses on 28 Dec 2007.  I immediately recognized the dish as the Steak With Baked Eringi Mushroom from Nobu Now.

 Here’s a picture of the dish as served at Matsuhisa, LA to another customer – ( http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_v4r-yb-7x7E/TBRUxHU2ZyI/AAAAAAAABsg/WuDdzHv6_hg/s1600/IMG_3397.JPG ) [see http://edeats.blogspot.com/2010/06/los-angeles-matsuhisa.html ].

So here’s the ingredient list from Nobu Now with my changes

1 large eringi mushroom ( I used 2 large eringi (about 9 oz) here)
1/3 oz black truffle, thinly sliced (I used the Urbani summer black truffles from Whole Foods)
2 garlic cloves finely chopped (the original called for 1 garlic clove)
flaked salt
shichimi togarashi
6 tablespoons olive oil (original recipe called for 3 tablespoons of olive oil)
1 T sake (original recipe called for 1 T + 1 t sake)
2 tablespoon yuzu juice, (original used 1 tablespoon of yuzu juice)
1 tablespoon of soy ( the original recipe just says ‘a little soy sauce’)

2 x 1/2 lb boneless short ribs (original recipe called for 5 1/4 oz Kobe beef fillet)
sea salt, black pepper

Simple jalapeno salsa
1 jalapeno chilli,
2 1/2 oz red onion
3 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil
3 tablespoons lemon juice

An online version of the recipe can be found here –

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/food-and-drink/recipes/kobe-beef-steak-with-baked-eringi-mushrooms-530688.html

The only major alteration to the online recipe/Nobu Now listing is that I cook the short ribs in the pan and omit the oven step altogether.

I began by preparing the eringi mushrooms by slicing up about 9 3/8 oz of the mushroom

9 oz of thinly sliced eringi mushrooms

I then followed up by mincing the salsa vegetables and then adding the lemon juice and oil.

Simple jalapeno salsa vegetables

I let the salsa sit in the lemon juice and olive oil mix while I went about preparing the rest of the dish.

Adding the lemon juice and extra virgin olive oil

Then, instead of finely chopped garlic, I chose to grate 2 garlic cloves (which amounted to 1 teaspoon of grated garlic).  I then mixed into a the 6 tablespoons of olive oil and set it aside.  I also combined the sake, yuzu and soy into a separate container.

At this point, I was just about ready to start cooking the dish.  So I thinly sliced some Urbani summer truffles I had purchased at Whole Foods Newtonville and put it at the bottom of a foil packet

thinly sliced Urbani black summer truffles

On top of the truffles, I added the thinly sliced eringi, grated garlic in olive oil, sake, yuzu, soy and two 3-fingered pinches of the 4:1 salt/pepper mix before adding the shichimi togarashi. On occasion, I’ve chosen to add a few drops of white truffle oil to kick up the aromatic quotient.

Sliced eringi, garlic mixed olive oil, sake, yuzu, soy, salt and black pepper before adding the shichimi togarashi

Once all the seasoning ingredients were in, I tried as best I could to mix the mushrooms and the seasonings all together so that the mushrooms were evenly coated.  Once that was done, I folded/closed up the foil packet and popped the tray into the preheated 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes.  Once that was done, I started some water to blanch some string beans/haricot vert and seasoned the shortribs with 4:1 salt/pepper mix.

All the mushrooms seasoned and ready for the 400 degree F oven

To cook the ribs, I did a dry sear with the fat side down first (and subsequently searing it all over) and then cooked the shortribs at about 6 minutes per side.  It’s been my general experience that, while cuts like NY Strip, Sirloin, etc take about 4 1/2 minutes a side for medium/medium-rare, I found that it’s necessary to cook the shortribs about 6 minutes a side to get the same doneness.

While the ribs were cooking, I cooked the string beans for about 5 minutes.  The beans were then shocked in cold water and then drained.  To plate,  I divided up the baked eringi mushrooms (and tried to evenly distribute up the truffle slices) with the juices.  On top of the mushrooms went a shortrib and a side of the blanched string beans.  I finally finished the dish by carefully topping the salsa along the top of the rib.

Nobu Shortribs With Baked Eringi And Truffles

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

