Lamb Ribchops With Nobu Brown Rice Salsa

So after my wife’s black belt test, she asked me if I could make her  lamb for dinner on Tuesday night (20 Sep).  I certainly could have made the dish with either garlic wasabi pepper sauce or miso anticucho.  But I came across a menu entry, as of this  writing, at Nobu Dubai – Lamb Chop With Brown Rice Salsa which seemed much more interesting (see http://www.noburestaurants.com/dubai/menus-2/dinner-2/hot-dishes-2/       the  yakimono menu section suggests this salsa also pairs well with salmon, chicken, beef)

The online recipe for he brown rice/genmai salsa can be found here:

http://abcnews.go.com/Nightline/nobu-matsuhisa-recipes/story?id=10021844

I’d done this brown rice salsa  once before as described in the online recipe with the crispy skin salmon.  For an entree sized portion, I found it necessary to double the brown rice (genmai) salsa recipe. To whit I needed for the salsa –

6 tablespoons genmai (brown rice), boiled
4 tablespoons tomato, finely diced
4 tablespoons cucumber, deseeded and finely diced
4 tablespoons red onion, finely diced
1 tablespoon jalapeno, finely chopped
1 tablespoon cilantro (coriander) leaves, finely chopped
4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
2 teaspoon lemon juice
2 teaspoon light soy sauce
salt
black pepper

Before I started preparing the vegetable portion of the salsa, I started the rice cooker with about 6 oz of dry brown rice that was rinsed and had about 6 oz of water added to it.  I diced up a persian cucumber, 1 roma tomato, 1/2 small red onion, and 1 jalapeno.  I also washed and stripped the leaves from some cilantro (enough to make 1 tablespoon of finely minced cilantro in the recipe).

Salsa ingredients (less brown rice) assembled

So I assembled all the ingredients in a mixing bowl with 2 pinches of 4:1 salt/pepper mix…

Combining the salsa vegetables, lemon juice, light soy sauce and extra virgin olive oil

…and then added the brown rice to the mix (this would make about 12 tablespoons of salsa).

Adding the cooked brown rice to the salsa ingredients

So I chose to cook the lamb following the Lamb Chop With Miso Anticucho Sauce recipe from  Nobu Now (p.172, 173). I seasoned the lamb chops with 4:1 salt/pepper mix and then seared the

Seasoning the lamb ribchops

lamb chops in the wok with olive oil.  Once that was done, I moved the lamb chops to a preheated oven (400 degrees F).  My wife likes her lamb a little more done so I cooked the lamb in the oven for about 6 minutes rather than the 4 minutes specified in the recipe from Nobu Now.

Plating the genmai salsa before the lamb chops

and then gently placed the cooked lamb on top.

Lamb Ribchops With Nobu Genmai (Brown Rice) Salsa

I would be curious to see how well the genmai salsa pairs with crisp skin mackerel/bluefish.

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

