Lamb Ribchops With Edamame And Beurre Rouge

Towards the end of this past June, my wife and I attended a wedding whose reception was held at ‘Upstairs On The Square’ near Harvard. The entree dish I had at the reception was a hanger steak with beurre rouge.  It was a nice dish and it got me thinking about the beurre rouge.  So, this past weekend, I thought I’d tried to make another dish using the beurre rouge; I settled on pairing the beurre rouge with Lamb ribchops and edamame.  I looked up two recipes for beurre rouge and found one in Robuchon’s The Complete Robuchon and one in the New York Times by Mark Bittman (http://www.nytimes.com/2006/01/04/dining/04mini.html).  On review, I sort of blanched at Joel Robuchon’s version with the amount of butter it contained relative the amount of reduced wine; so I went Bittman’s published version (http://www.nytimes.com/2006/01/04/dining/041mrex.html) and decided to a half-order of the source (1 cup of wine, 2 oz of unsalted butter, 1 1/2 teaspoons of balsamic vinegar, 1 teaspoon+1/2 teaspoon of minced shallots [I thought 1 tablespoon of  the shallots I was using might be too strong], 1 (3 finger) pinch of 4:1 salt/pepper mix (~1/4 teaspoon).

So I began by preheating my countertop oven for the lamb and then continued my preparations by mincing up the shallots and cutting up half a stick of butter.

Minced shallots for the beurre rouge

Unsalted butter for the beurre rouge...

Cutting up half a stick of the unsalted butter for gradual incorporation into the sauce

In preparation for this meal, I went over to Marty’s Liquor in Newtonville, MA to ask about an appropriate red wine for this sauce – Bittman called for a fruity low tannic red wine (and his recipe does call for the addition of vinegar) and Robuchon called for  a tannic one (bordeaux?).  So a Guigal Cotes Du Rhone was suggested.  After the shallots and butter were prepared, I measured out a cup of the Guigal and the proceeded to season the lamb ribchops with 4:1 salt/pepper mix.

1 cup of wine from this Cotes Du Rhone

Searing the seasoned lamb chops

After searing the lamb chops, I moved them to the countertop oven and cooked them at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes (see https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2011/02/09/blue-ginger-soy-dijon-lamb-rib-chops/ ).  Once the lamb was in the oven, I poured off any excess oil used to sear the lamb, keeping just a little bit to sautee the shallots at 50% max power.   I then went ahead and added the shallots and sauteed them until they became fragrant and just turned color.

Sautee'ing the shallots in the pan that seared the lamb ribchops

The wine and  and 1 1/2 teaspoons of balsamic vinegar was added to sauteed shallots to begin the reduction for the sauce.

Adding the 1 cup of wine and balsamic vinegar to the shallots that will also deglaze the pan while making the beurre rouge sauce

I know the Bittman recipe would have called for the reduction down to 1 tablespoon, but I was too concerned about burning the reduction and so when the reduction got down to 3 tablespoons, I transferred the contents to a small sauce pan.  By this time the lamb was done, so I took it out to rest.   At that point, I lowered the temperature to 25% max power and began incorporating a piece of butter at a time into the wine reduction. I also then started the blanching process for the edamame.

Incorporating a piece of butter at a time on 25% max power heat

When all the butter was incorporated, I tasted it and added a 3 finger pinch of 4:1 salt pepper mix (~1/4 teaspoon), blended it and then strained the sauce.

Straining the finished sauce

I cleaned the filter and used it to shock the blanched edamame and began the plating by putting the edamame down on the plate.

Blanched edamame to accompany the lamb ribchops

The edamame was followed by the lamb ribchops and then I poured 4 tablespoons of the sauce on the plate in front of the lamb chops.

Finished dish with the beurre rouge sauce

After tasting the dish, I think I would have changed two things.  First, I would have added the full 1 tablespoon of shallots to the sauce. Second, although the use of vinegar was nice, I think the complexity of the Cote Du Rhone really made the vinegar unneccesary.

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

