Roasted Hake With Nobu Chili Red Onion Salsa

I tend to have a busy schedule during the work week and sometimes it’s a challenge to get dinner on the table quickly.  I suppose that’s one of the reasons I’ve been attracted to preparing dishes like those at Nobu.  So Friday night, I decided to try and new dish combination using hake.  Recently I’ve been using hake to make Nobu style sake steamed fish with new style oil. I’ve noticed that the steamed hake produced results very much like steamed chilean seabass or black cod/sablefish. I began wondering how the hake that I’d been buying at Newtonville Whole Foods would stand up to other cooking methods.

So I decided to roast the hake and top it with Nobu’s chili/red onion salsa (the  online version of the recipe which originally used seared scallops can be found at http://www.nytimes.com/2001/10/24/dining/the-chef-nobu-matsuhisa.html ).  When  I went about prepping the dish, I first mixed the soy and yuzu juice.

soy and yuzu for the salsa

I  then diced up half a 1/2 lb red onion to which I mixed in 1 teaspoon of a jalapeno (finely diced).

Minced Red Onion and 1 teaspoon of minced jalapeno

Once that was done, I added the jalapeno/chili mix to the soy yuzu and set aside.

the salsa assembled with the soy and yuzu

I then seasoned 2 1/2 lb fillets of hake with 4:1 salt/pepper mix and popped it into a 400 degree

Seasoned hake fillet just before roasting

oven for about 10 minutes and then broiled it for another 5 minutes.

When I went to plate the finished dish, I set down a bed of blanched baby bok choy, topped it with the hake fillet and then spooned the chili red onion salsa with the soy yuzu over the fish.

Roasted Hake With Nobu Chili Red Onion Salsa

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

