Anticucho

While my wife and I were in Aspen, we had an omakase meal at Matsuhisa. During the meal, we were served a ribeye sauced with Nobu’s Red and Yellow anticucho sauces (basically Nobu Now’s Kobe steak With Anticucho Sauce). The dish was paired with a sautee of asparagus and eringi mushrooms.  When we got home from holiday, my wife asked me if we could have the dish for dinner.  So to make the dish, I needed to make both of Nobu’s red and yellow anticucho sauces – so here’re the necessary sauce recipes

Red Anticucho Sauce

1/4 teaspoon dried oregano (crushed to powder)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 1/2 teaspoons grated garlic
3/4 teaspoons ground cumin
1 tablespoon + 1/2 teaspoon aji panca paste
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
1 tablespoon sake
1 tablespoon grapeseed oil

Combine in the order listed

Nobu Red Anticucho Sauce Ingredients

Dried Oregano, ground

All the dry red anticucho sauce ingredients

..added the aji panca paste

...all wet ingredients for red anticucho sauce added

Yellow Anticucho Sauce
1 tablespoon + 1/2 teaspoon aji amarilllo paste
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
2 teaspoons soy sauce
1 teaspoons lemon juice
1 teaspoons yuzu juice
1 tablespoon grapeseed oil

Combine in the order listed

Yellow Anticucho Sauce Ingredients

All Yellow Anticucho Sauce Ingredients Combined

These two recipes make half the amount of the original

So I cut up about a 1/2 lb of eringi and 12 oz of asparagus.  I seasoned 2 portions of NY strip with 4:1 salt pepper mix.  I seared then cooked the steaks for about 4 1/2 mins a side at 50% power and then set the steaks to the side to rest. While the steaks were resting, I sauteed the erigini on high heat in grapeseed oil for about 3 minutes and then added the asparagus and continued to sautee for 3 to 4 more minutes.  I then plated vegetables and then the steaks.  For my wife’s plate, I first added 2 tablespoons of the red anticucho sauce and then 2 tablespoons of the yellow anticucho sauce.

NY Strip With Red And Yellow Anticucho Sauces

For myself, I decided to make one more change.  I decided to do my version with the miso anticucho sauce which is simply 1 part Nobu style saikyo miso, 1 part red anticucho sauce, 1 part yellow anticucho sauce.

Red And Yellow Anticucho Sauces And Nobu Saikyo Style Miso

Miso Anticucho

NY Strip With Miso Anticucho Sauce

…and as I mentioned in a previous write up ( https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2011/01/01/nobu-style-saikyo-miso/ ) the miso anticucho sauce goes great with strongly flavored fish like bluefish….

Resources

Aji Panca and Aji Amarillo – La Chapincita Market, Waltham, MA

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rupal on January 1, 2017 - 8:19 pm

    Could I ask what kind of Sake you used for the red sauce?

    • #2 by tastingmenu on January 6, 2017 - 10:20 pm

      Momokawa Silver. It’s the sake I usually use; and if it’s a special occasion, Wakatake Onigoroshi

Leave a Reply

