Nobu Chilean Seabass And Truffles With Yuzu Soy Butter Sauce

Chilean Seabass And Truffles With Yuzu Soy Butter Sauce is probably the very first full-blown recipe I ever attempted from Nobu Matsuhisa’s Nobu: The Cookbook.

Here’s a link to the online recipe –

http://books.google.com/books?id=Ch2kiePz4M4C&pg=PA110&lpg=PA110&dq=chilean+seabass+and+truffles+with+yuzu+soy+butter+sauce&source=bl&ots=ssB7aFIsQG&sig=3zXQepgaNVt6KvhSNYs4MOPuJ6U&hl=en&ei=YgynTfrLL6y60QH-vJX5CA&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=2&sqi=2&ved=0CBoQ6AEwAQ#v=onepage&q&f=false

When I first did this dish back in 2004 (before my very first visit to Matsuhisa in Dec 2004), it was very hard for me to get truffles for this dish, and as it would turn out, it tasted just fine without the truffles – the truffle oil was enough to do the job.  Now a days, Whole Foods (at least where I live) has black truffles available for purchase.  The funny thing is, it wasn’t until  my omakase meal at Matsuhisa on 26 Sep 2009, that I was served this dish sided with the buckwheat risotto.  The omakase version of this dish was garnished with a nice crisp deep-fried mitsuba leaf. This gave me a lot  of confidence that it was ‘ok’ for me to have been replacing the fiddlehead fern and bamboo shoot skin with a few blanched asparagus stalks when I had made this dish at home.

As for the sauce, I found a half order of the yuzu soy (8 1/2 teaspoons of soy and 3 1/2 teaspoons of yuzu juice) actually was enough of  1 plating of this dish.  I also found, at least to my taste that 1 tablespoon of the melted clarified butter was plenty. It’s my thought that the butter plays a crucial part of this dish to round out the tartness of the yuzu juice in this dish. And while the recipe calls for a drizzle of truffle oil, I’ve found 1 teaspoon is more than enough for this dish.

So I began by preheating my counter top oven at 475 degrees F, then scraped out two tablespoons of clarified butter (I keep a batch in the fridge handy for other recipes that may need them) and set the ramekin with the butter atop of the heating counter top oven to melt it.

Two tablespoons of chilled clarified butter, scraped out of storage container

Partially melted clarified butter from counter top ovens residual pre-heat

Clarified butter, melted from residual pre-heat

While the countertop oven was preheating, I prepped the asparagus stalks by snapping off their woody lower stem sections, rinsing the stalks and then blanching them.  The asparagus was then set aside for later plating.  I then mixed up the yuzu soy dressing by measuring out 3 1/2 teaspoons of yuzu juice and 8 1/2 teaspoons of soy and set that aside for plating.

3 1/2 teaspoons of yuzu juice

...mixed with 8 1/2 teaspoons of soy

I pulled out a small container of 2 black truffles from Urbani that I purchased at Whole Foods and shaved the truffles with a truffle shaver and set that aside.

two black urbani truffles shaved with their truffle shaver

I rinsed and patted dry the chilean seabass fillet and then seasoned it with a 4:1 salt/pepper mixed and set it on the rack for roasting and roasted it for about 10 minutes

Seasoned chilean seabass just before roasting

Once the fish was cooked, I plated the asparagus, placed the fish on top and then placed the shaved truffle slices on the fish.  The top of the fish was then dressed with a drizzle of the truffle oil and melted clarified butter. I finished up by carefully pouring 4 tablespoons of the yuzu soy into the plate, tipped the plate about gently to get the sauce to cover the bottom the plate evenly.

Roasted chilean seabass with truffles on blanched aspargus before saucing

...adding a teaspoon of white truffle oil

drizzling on 1 tablespoon of melted clarified butter

finished with the yuzu soy

and there you have it.

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

