Blue Ginger Sake-Miso Marinated Chilean Sea Bass

So I thought I’d surprise my wife Thursday night by making her wedding reception entree for supper – Blue Ginger’s Sake-Miso Marinated Sea Bass (see Blue Ginger: East Meets West Cooking, p. 186-187). So Wed evening, I started preparations.  Unfortunately, I discovered I didn’t have any limes or lime juice, so I substituted in yuzu juice.

For the Soy Citrus Syrup

5 oz sugar
4 oz soy sauce
1 oz yuzu juice

Turbinado sugar for the Soy Yuzu (Citrus) Syrup

Soy, yuzu juice and sugar on the stove, reducing

I mixed these together and through them on the stove to reduce from 10 oz to 5 oz over simmering heat.  When done, I set it aside to cool and then placed in the fridge for Thursday night.

Completed syrup reduction

For the Wasabi Oil

2 T of wasabi powder, mixed with 2 T water
1 t+1/2 t mirin
1/2 t sugar
2 T oil

I mixed the wasabi and water and let it sit for about 10 minutes as mentioned in the Nobu cookbooks to develop the flavor and THEN added the rest of the ingredients and whisked in the oil. I also placed

Wasabi source...

Waiting 10 minutes before adding sugar and mirin

Added the mirin, sugar and (canola) oil

this in the fridge for Thursday night.

For the sake miso marinade

1/2 c (4 oz) yamajirushi shiro miso (same one as Nobu uses at his restaurants)
4 T mirin
4 T sake
1 t+1/2 t grated ginger
4 T oil
2 T sugar

Yamajirushi shiro miso for the marinade...

Miso, measured out

(left to right) sake, mirin, sugar measured out

Grated ginger, measured out

Combined marinade ingredients after filtering, oil now added

As mentioned in my prior write up on Nobu-style Saikyo Miso (https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2011/01/01/nobu-style-saikyo-miso/), I strained the miso into the combined the mirin, sake, and sugar. Once that was done, I blended in the grated ginger and then whisked in the oil.  I suppose I could have also altered this recipe by substuting honey (but I can do that another time).

I then placed 2 1/2 lb skinless chilean seabass fillets into a large ziploc bag, poured in the marinade, carefully squeezed out excess air and placed that in the fridge overnight.  The next morning before going to work, I pulled out the marinating ingredients and flipped it and put it back in the fridge for dinner Thursday night.

I did make one change to the recipe.  I replaced the seaweed salad and the soba maki with a simple raw julienne of red, orange, yellow and green bell peppers as a bed for the cooked fish. With my busy schedule, I didn’t think I was going to have time to do those two components.  I thought the use of the bell pepper julienne (that was in the soba maki portion of the recipe) would make a nice refreshing tasting contrast to the soy syrup, wasabi oil and miso marinade flavors.

So on Thursday night, I took the soy syrup out of the fridge to bring it up to room temperature.  I must say, the syrup and really thickened and stiffened a little bit, so I took out as much as I needed and added a few teaspoons of water to loosen it.  After that I julienned the peppers (I was going to plate them as a ‘rainbow bed’. I took the fish out of the marinade, wiped off the excess, seasoned them with black pepper and popped them into an oven that had been preheated to 475 degree oven and set the oven to broil mode.

Marinated fish, seasoned with black pepper, headed for the oven/broiler

As per the recipe, I broiled the fish on the skin-side for 5 minutes, then took them out, flipped them and broiled them for about 5 minutes more.

Bell pepper rainbow plating

saucing the plates (soy yuzu syrup already, down), adding wasabi oil

Blue Ginger Sake Miso Marinated Sea Bass is served

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

