Crispy Skin Chicken, Nobu-Style

Periodically, I do ‘roast’ chicken dishes for  a quick supper.  I suppose I could take the time to actually do a whole chicken, or at the very least a poussin/cornish game hen.  But with the busy schedule I have, I need to be able to get a good satisfying dinner on the table quick.  So as a compromise, I wanted to roast skin on/bone-in chicken thighs (and as Chef Ming Tsai says, that part has got the best ratio of meat/skin – see Simply Ming: One-Pot Meals, p. 101).  So I chose to do a variant of Crispy Skin Poussin from Nobu West. The components for this dish were pretty straight forward – shredded cabbage, chicken and Nobu’s spicy lemon dressing (incidentally, Nobu Now has a recipe for grilled chicken with garlic wasabi pepper sauce(previously discussed at: https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2011/02/02/wasabi-pepper-sauce/ ) which is closely echoed in the Nobu Miami: The Party Cookbook). The recipe for Nobu’s Spicy Lemon Dressing can be found here –

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Lobster-Salad-with-Spicy-Lemon-Dressing-105873

The only two differences I made here was that the salt and pepper was combined into 1/4 teaspoon of 4:1 salt/pepper mix.  I also added the chili garlic sauce directly, rather than straining it.

Spicy Lemon Sauce Ingredients

For the chicken, I bought 1 1/4 of chicken thighs.  I also prepared  about 1 lb of cabbage chiffonade.

Chiffonade of cabbage

I seasoned both sides of the chicken thighs with 4:1 salt/pepper mix, and baked the chicken at 450 degree oven for about 30 minutes.

Chicken thighs seasoned with 4:1 salt/pepper mix

Chicken baking/roasting at 450 degs F for about 30 minutes

While the chicken was cooking, I sauteed the cabbage in a wok with rice oil with 4 dashes of 4:1 salt/pepper mix; I sauteed it on 75% max power for about 7 minutes, tasting it periodically to make sure it was cooked through but still retained a bit of crunchy texture to it.  I added about 3 oz of water at the end to ‘finish’ the cooking – a cooking trick my wife showed me when stir-frying ‘hard’ vegetables in a wok.  Once it was done, I plated the cabbage, laid the chicken along side and added 4 tablespoons of the Nobu Spicy Lemon Dressing.

Crispy Skin Chicken With Sauteed Chiffonade Of Cabbage And Spicy Lemon Dressing

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

