NY Strip With Nishino Red Wine Soy Reduction

Back in 2005, I came across an interesting collection of online recipes from Nishino of Seattle, Wa.  The online recipes, Autumn Omakase, A Tasting Menu From Tatsu Nashino Of Nishino can be found at:

http://www.tastingmenu.com/autumnomakase/B889FA42C4E021AAEE978D1/Autumn%20Omakase%20from%20Tatsu%20Nishino%20and%20tastingmenu.publishing.pdf

One of the first recipes that I tried from this book was his Red Wine Soy Reduction from his dish with seared foie, maguro and shiitake.  I tried making this dish with seared o-toro and shiitake and I was very happy with the results.  As I thought about the dish, I observed that the maguro had a ‘steakiness’ about it.  So I chose to pair this sauce with a NY Strip steak.  The other thing I noticed was the recipe made quite a bit of sauce, so I made a half-recipe.  I’ve made the recipe before with Cabernet Sauvignon as specified, but I’ve found I using a Shiraz or Cotes du Rhone also works well.

Here’s my microbatch version –

1 cup red wine (this time I used the Clos du Caillou Cotes du Rhone)
2 T + 2 t mirin
1 T soy sauce
1 shallot finely diced
1/2 medium sized clove of garlic, grated
1 t canola oil (my wife isn’t a big fan of heated/cooked butter)

The actual method of preparation of the sauce is on p. 43 of the .pdf document from the quoted url link above.

Mincing up the shallot

Red Wine, Grated Garlic, Minced Shallot

Mirin for the reduction

Sauteeing the shallot and garlic

garlic and shallots lightly browned

Adding the wine

Adding the mirin to the mix

…and lastly adding the soy

Because I don’t have a gas stove, I didn’t go through the ‘lighting’ the alcohol to burn it off, but rather letting it burn off on its own on during the reduction process.

Straining out the solids after the initial infusion and reduction

The sauce reduction at the end

So I prepped the baby carrots by blanching them and prepped the shiitake and steak the same way as I did in the tobanyaki write up (see https://tastingmenu.wordpress.com/2010/12/13/toban-yaki-nobu-style).  I cooked the NY Strip in my wok much as I did salmon in the toban yaki article, but without oil.  I dry seared all sides of the steak with the fat side last (to let the fat render out to serve as its own ‘cooking oil’).  I cooked the steak for about 5 minutes one side and 4 on the other to about medium/medium-rare.  I then plated the baby carrots as a bed (alternately pointing in opposite directions), layered the carrots with the broiled shiitake and then topped it with the steak.

Baby Carrots And Broiled Shiitake

NY Strip

At the point it was just a matter of spooning 4 tablespoons of the sauce over the steak.

Adding Nishino Red Wine Soy Reduction

The finished dish

Update (8 March 2014)

Recently making this sauce again, I measured out the amount of prepared garlic and shallot.  The grated garlic came to 1 teaspoon and the diced shallots came to 4 tablespoons.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

