Blue Ginger Soy Dijon Lamb Rib Chops

My wife and I like to have lamb periodically and it’s become clear that lamb rib chops/rack of lamb are our favorite cut.  I’ve paired the lamb rib chops with the Nobu garlic wasabi pepper sauce on one occasion and paired it with the Nobu Miso Anticucho sauce on another.  So when I got a request for lamb this week, I thought about trying Ming Tsai’s take on lamb.  The Blue Ginger take on lamb employs a soy dijon marinade which can be found in both his Blue Ginger and Simply Ming books.  Here’s an online reference to the marinade  –

http://ming.com/foodandwine/recipes/season-1/soy-dijon-marinade.htm

The thing is, that’s a lot of marinade; so I scaled down the recipe to a small batch variant –

1 T cracked black peppercorns
1/4 cup red wine
3 oz (6 T) dijon mustard
1 oz naturally brewed soy sauce
1 1/2 t dried thyme
1 oz (2 T) minced garlic (I do grated garlic here)
5 oz canola oil (I left this out)

The marinade recipe didn’t give me much of an idea of what red wine to use, so I opted for a Cotes du Rhone (Clos du Caillou, 2007) [you know what they say – if you’re going to cook with it, it better be good enough to drink as well].

The basic recipe for doing this marinated lamb can be found here –

http://ming.com/foodandwine/recipes/season-1/roasted-soy-dijon-lamb-racks-with-smashed-blue-cheese-spinach-potatoes.htm

I got 8 New Zealand Lamb Rib chops (about 1.25 lbs) from Whole Foods, and put them in the marinade.  The recipe called for kosher salt and ground black pepper to taste – so when I saw how much marinade I had made, it was about 1 cup. So I added 1/4 teaspoon of  a 4:1 sea salt/black pepper mix.  I really didn’t think it was necessary to add the oil.  I then put the whole thing into a large ziploc plastic bag and refridgerated from Monday night to Tuesday night.

Heated Cracked Black Pepper

Dried Thyme...

Clos Du Caillou Cotes Du Rhone and Dijon Mustard

Dijon measured out...

Garlic, grated rather than minced

Soy sauce measured out...

Completed marinade without the oil

The next evening I took out the lamb, wiped off the marinade, seared the lamb in canola oil about 2 mins a side and then popped it into the oven for about 10 minutes at 400 degrees F.

Overnight marinated lamb

Wiping off the marinade (both sides) before searing

Searing the lamb in canola oil at about 60% max power for 2 mins a side

Roast the lamb for 10 minutes at 400 degrees F

If this cooking procedure sounds familiar, it should.  It’s the same cooking procedure for the Lamb Chop with Miso Anticucho Sauce recipe in Nobu Now.  I chose to pair the lamb with edamame since lamb and beans is a classic combination.

Lamb with blanched edamame

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

