Honey Broiled Chicken Wings, Iron Chef Chen Style

During Thanksgiving 2009, I managed to pick up a copy of Iron Chef Chen’s Knockout Chinese.  I’ve been periodically looking over the recipes since purchasing the book.  At some point last year, I tried one of the recipes – his Honey Broiled Chicken Wings.  After trying the recipe, my now-wife and I both thought the flavor was a little bit on the sweet side.  So last night, we retried the recipe, cutting the amount of honey in half.

So the chicken wings (in this case, drumettes) were rubbed with 1/4 teaspoon of salt, and then marinated with 1 teaspoon of both rice vinegar, soy 1 1/2 teaspoons of honey and 3 teaspoons of sake.  I let the drumettes marinate in the mix, periodically massaging them 3 or 4 times over the course of a half hour.  I think the next time I do the recipe again, I’d double or even triple the marinade recipe.

Massaging the drumettes in the soy/sake/vinegar/honey marinade

While the drumettes were marinating, I preheated my countertop oven to 475 degrees F.  I foiled the oven pan, sprayed canola oil on the foil and placed the drumettes on it and switched the oven to broil for 20 minutes.  I didn’t do the added brushing of the marinade.

…and here’s how it turned out –

Iron Chef Chen's Chicken Wings ready-to-eat

I suppose I could have drizzled some yuzu juice (instead of the lemon juice called for in the recipe), but my wife and I thought they tasted just fine.

Thank you Iron Chef Chen – it is a fun, quick and tasty recipe.  I look forward to trying  your Mapo Tofu  and Chili Shrimp recipes (and presenting the chili shrimp a la ‘Battle Shiba Shrimp’!).

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

