Three Vinegar Syrup

While thinking about what to make for dinner for my wife and I this week, I came across Chef Ming Tsai’s “Three Vinegar Syrup” in his Simply Ming book.  The syrup was simple enough to make –

http://ming.com/foodandwine/recipes/season-1/three-vinegar-syrup.htm

…so I made a half batch. One thing I remembered about doing this dish – the recipe mentions about doing the reduction on a simmer.  Thomas Keller also mentions that, “When making a vinegar…glaze, reduce it slowly…If you boil it too hard, the acid will remain and make the glaze too sharp” (The French Laundry Cookbook, p. 238). The first time I did the three vinegar syrup a few years ago, I set the heat a little too high.  I’ve found that once you get the vinegar mix up to a simmer, use a 50% max heat setting to complete the process.

Since one of the applications for the syrup was for a halibut dish, it got me thinking about to what other seafood (fish) I could apply it. So how to use Chef Tsai’s Three Vinegar Syrup? Well, Nobu Now contains a recipe for black pepper crusted black cod with balsamic teriyaki (which I believe shows up on Nobu Hong Kong menu; Nobu Miami apparently has a Salt & Pepper Chilean Seabass variant).  Nobu’s balsamic teriyaki is basically a reduction of balsamic vinegar whose recipe can be found here –

http://bruyette.blogspot.com/2010/10/toro-steak-with-teriyaki-balsamic-sauce.html

So why not redo the black cod/chilean seabass recipe with  the three vingar syrup? So I blanched baby carrots and prepared the chilean seabass like the black pepper crusted black cod in Nobu Now. Instead of the balsamic teriyaki, I spooned 2 tablespoons of the three vinegar syrup.

 

Black Pepper Chilean Seabass And Baby Carrots With Three Vinegar Syrup

My wife loved the way the syrup cut the richness of the chilean seabass.  She enjoyed the meal and asked me to make it again in the future.  That said it all.

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

