Recreating A Morimoto Omakase Dish

At the end of Dec 2010, my wife and I had the opportunity to enjoy another wonderful omakase meal at Morimoto NYC.  One of the courses that was offered was a steam poached/braised snapper.  It was an elegantly simple and wonderfully satisfying dish.  After a short conversation with our omakase chef, Ariki Omae,

 

Our Omakase Chef, Ariki Omae at Morimoto NYC

I confirmed the dish was cooked in a shanton broth.  There were obviously components of raw cucumber (under the fish), salted black bean, jalapeno, and chive.  The dish reminded me of a comment Rokusaburo Michiba made regarding dishes made for an  Iron Chef match – offer a restaurant dish that an  everyday person could make at home.

As such – the dish that Chef Omae made for my wife and I left such an impression on me that I wanted to try to reproduce it at home.  Here’s the dish Chef Omae offered to us as part of the omakase meal –

Omakase Course #8 - Shanton Steam Poached Snapper at Morimoto NYC

So here’s how I attempted to recreate the dish at home:

Shanton Steam Poached Snapper

2 skinned snapper fillet
2 persian cucumber, peeled, split lengthwise, halved crosswise
1 small jalapeno thinly cross sectioned
2 large cherry tomatoes, split for garnish
4 tablespoons shanton broth per fillet
2 tablespoons sake per fillet
1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil
4:1 salt/pepper mix

Plating Preparations

1. In a heatproof casserole dish (I use a 6″ Revol), place a fillet, add broth, sake, then season with salt/pepper the fillet
2. Seal the dish with aluminum foil and steam on high for 10 minutes
3. In a ‘deep’ presentation dish (I use another 6″ Revol casserole dish), place 4 cucumber pieces side by side, transfer fish from cooking dish to top the cucumber pieces, then cover with jalapeno slices.
4. Garnish on the side with 2 tomato halves, carefully pour the poaching liquid into the dish, drizzle olive oil over the dish and serve.

Home Version Of The Shanton Steamed Snapper

Obviously, the version I made here didn’t have the salted black beans.  I imagine that if I had the ingredient on hand, I would have sprinkled a few atop the fillets before steaming.  As my wife and I tasted the home version of the dish, she and I agreed that the dish came very close to having the flavors in the version that we had at the restaurant.

Chef Omae – thank you for making this omakase dish for us.

 

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

