Sake Steamed Fish a la Nobu New Style Sashimi

What to make for dinner?  After a busy day at work, I was thinking about doing something conceptually easy. So Nobu West has a dish “Steamed Scorpion Fish”.  After studying the dish, I realized this was a sake steamed fish offering finished like Nobu’s New Style Sashimi.

So I started by prepping the thinly sliced garlic (cutting  it thin, means the garlic will cook through and not have the severe bite that it has in its raw state).

Then I prepped the ginger.  What’s made this step difficult for me was trying to replicate the finely julienned ginger that they use at the restaurant.  The solution I chose was the use a vegetable peeler to peel thin ’tiles’ of ginger.

Upon stacking the thin ginger tiles, I was then able to thinly julienne the ginger into the same shreds much as they use at the restaurant

I also soaked the finely julienned ginger in water for about 10 mintues (it also apparently removes the astringent bite, also further ‘softened’ by the cooking process); since I didn’t have chives, I finely minced the green part of a cleaned, trimmed scallion

I then boiled off the alcohol from 2 oz of sake and then added 2 tablespoons of soy sauce (1 tablespoon per oz sake).   I then seasoned 1 lb of chilean seabass with 4:1 salt/pepper mix in a heat proof casserole dish

and then topped the fillet with the garlic layed out like fish scales and then distributed the shredded ginger atop the garlic.

As per the recipe, I drizzled 2 tablespoons of sake

then covered the dish and put it in the steamer to cook for 12 minutes.

In the meantime I mixed up 6 tablespoons of olive oil and 2 teaspoons of sesame oil.  When the fish was ready,  I pulled it out of the steamer, covered it with the minced scallions greens….

….drizzled 4 tablespoons of the sake soy.

I then heated the new style oil until it just started to smoke and then spooned it over the scallions causing it to sizzle –

….and served immediately with a separate side of blanched zucchini spears.

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

