Morimoto Buri Bop

One of the dishes I like to do on weekends is Iron Chef Morimoto’s Buri Bop. I remember seeing this dish for the first time during Morimoto’s Battle Yellowtail on Iron Chef Japan.  I remember thinking to myself how appetizing this dish looked and how much I’d like to try the dish.   After having the experience of eating the traditional Korean ok/gop dol, I was highly motivated to make Iron Chef Morimoto’s buri bop when his first cookbook became available in 2007.

The published version of the recipe requires the addition of Morimoto’s veal stock for the garlic soy jus used in (and probably originally created for) this recipe. Of course, the published recipe is a well refined variant of what Morimoto created during the Yellowtail battle.

Here’s the video where the garlic soy jus makes its debut in what is to become Morimoto’s buri bop –


(pay attention to time index 3:04 through 3:10)

Here, Morimoto does his garlic soy jus without the veal stock –

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/soy-marinated-wagyu-with-congee-ginger-scallion-recipe/index.html

SO:  When I make this dish, I like to use the garlic soy jus variant without the veal stock – sort of like being able to make the jus as if I were cooking with limited time.

I do deviate from the recipe in several subtle ways when I make the jus.
1. Instead of chopping, then mincing, then smearing the garlic and ginger, I prefer to use the Nobu Matsuhisa technique of directly grating the garlic and ginger (and in fact, a peeled onion IS to be grated at the end of the jus recipe)

Grating garlic...

Grating ginger...

Grating the sweet onion...

2. Because mirin is in the recipe, I feel the jus is sweet enough as is to not need the addition of sugar (not to mention I prefer to use sweet onions instead of plain onions).
3. since it’s not mentioned in the book, I do also deviate by straining the sauce when it’s ready.

Filtering the jus...

Now – Morimoto heats the ok/gop dol by putting in on the fire –


(pay attention to time index 0:01 through 0:07)

But for me – I don’t have a gas stove – just a plain electrical apartment stove. SO – what I do is pre-heat the oven to 500 deg F and then put the ok/gop dol in the oven for about an hour

As in the Battle Yellowtail, I prefer to use (what appears to be) broccoli rabe (apparently flavored with sesame seed oil). In fact, in Morimoto’s original recipe, the sesame oil marinated greens (spinach) is blanched, shocked and tossed with salt and oil.  In this case, I use the broccoli rabe from Battle Yellowtail, but prepare it in the manner of Thomas Keller’s big-pot blanching. In that technique, Chef Keller comments about cooking vegetables briefly (1 to 2 minutes in this case) in lots of boiling water which tastes as salty as the sea.  In this case, I used 12 cups (96 oz) of water with 6 tablespoons and 2 teaspoons of salt to create the 3.5% salt solution associated with ocean water. After I shocked the rabe in cold water and tasted it, the rabe had the right saltiness that I associated with korean sesame oil marinated vegetables.

 

Adding sesame oil to blanched salted broccoli rabe

 

Hamachi Sashimi to be marinated...

Marinating the hamachi sashimi in the garlic soy jus

Broccoli Rabe atop the rice in a sesame oil brushed heated korean stone bowl

Drizzling the jus around the hamachi and kizami nori topped heated Korean stone bowl

Resources

Korean Stone Bowl (“okdol”) – Dae Han Oriental Market, Waltham, MA

Sushi Grade Hamachi – H-Mart, Burlington, MA

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by sybylla on November 26, 2010 - 8:17 am

    Yum! Even full after our Thanksgiving feast the first thing I do is read your blog.Looks delicious.

    Am excited for all you two are creating!

  1. Morimoto Waikiki, Me and The Obamas | Undercover Caterer

Leave a Reply

